Bubba Pollard Invades SNMP And Dominates CARS Tour Super Late Model Season Opener

Bubba Pollard Invades SNMP And Dominates CARS Tour Super Late Model Season Opener

by March 10, 2019 1 comment

LUCAMA, N.C. – Bubba Pollard is one of the best Super Late Model drivers in the country, but there has always been something about CARS Tour events that have plagued him in the past. On Saturday night, Bubba showed his muscles and came to a new playground and came out on top.

The early portion of the race had a handful of cautions for minor incidents, all continued except for Anthony Cataldi and Jeff Batten. A little before halfway, Steve Wallace sent a rod through the pan and grenaded coming off Turn 4, soaking the frontstretch in oil leading to a rather lengthy red flag. Once the field went back green, Pollard assumed the lead and carried on.

Although Pollard never blistered the field, he did just as Josh Berry did in the Late Model Stock race earlier in the evening and managed the gap, all race long. Matt Wallace led a handful of laps, as did Preston Peltier. Pollard regained the lead on a restart passing Peltier on the high side late in the race.

Pollard, Mason Diaz and Peltier had a three-car race for the lead going until Peltier and Diaz made contact in Turns 3 and 4. Unfortunately for Diaz, he drew the short stick of this deal and ended up around and in the back of the field as he brought out the last caution of the evening.

Once the final green flag flew, Pollard held off every attempt that Peltier had and won his fourth-career CARS Tour event. Peltier and Setzer rounded out the podium.

The CARS Tour Super Late Model drivers will be back in action on Saturday, March 23 for the MTP Tire 300 at Hickory Motor Speedway. Racing is set to begin at 7 p.m. ET.


1.) 26p Bubba Pollard

2.) 33 Preston Peltier

3.) 6 Brandon Setzer

4.) 14 Jared Fryar

5.) 51 Stephen Nasse

6.) 17 Mike Speeney

7.) 7 Justin Crider

8.) 54 Matt Craig

9.) 2 Trevor Noles

10.) 97 Brandon Lynn

11.) 45 Kodie Conner

12.) 8 Tate Fogleman

13.) 24d Mason Diaz

14.) 37 Dan Speeney

15.) 2t Gracie Trotter

16.) 27 Tyler Church

17.) 16 Molly Helmuth

18.) 34 Nolan Pope

19.) 24 Colin Garrett

20.) 21 Trey Bayne

21.) 22 Tim Holls

22.) 61 Gabriel Fogg

23.) 98 Jody Measamer

24.) 6w Matt Wallace

25.) 66w Steve Wallace

26.) 49 Jeff Batten

27.) 00 Anthony Cataldi

Photo Credit: Brad Newman Photography

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation