Heat Race Lineups: 2023 Busch Light Clash At The Coliseum

Heat Race Lineups: 2023 Busch Light Clash At The Coliseum

by February 5, 2023 0 comments

LOS ANGELES, Calif. – Kaulig Racing’s Justin Haley kicked off the 2023 NASCAR season by clocking the fastest lap in qualifying for Sunday’s Busch Light Clash at The Coliseum.

Haley’s pole-sitting run was a 13.413 second lap in his No. 31 Celsius Chevrolet. This marked the first time that he has ever won the pole for the non-points event.

“I felt like we had a pretty good No. 31 Celsius Chevy in practice,” Haley said. “I just felt like I wasn’t getting the full potential out of the race car, and then obviously in qualifying, our lap was just dominant.

“I feel pretty confident about where we are. It’s a good place to start the season. I’m not sure why we’re so good here. I wish I had this much talent at all of the races, but I’m pretty thankful. It’s pretty cool to get Kaulig Racing their first NASCAR Cup Series pole; my first pole as a driver in my second year here; and get Celsius their first pole.”

In qualifying for this particular race, the top-four fastest drivers will start on the pole in their respective heat races. Kyle Busch who is now competing for Richard Childress Racing was just 0.140 seconds slower than Haley; however, he’ll start first in his heat race. Joe Gibbs Racing’s Christopher Bell and Hendrick Motorsports’ William Byron were third and fourth on the speed chart, and they will also start on pole in their heat races.

Aric Almirola, Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin, AJ Allmendinger, Alex Bowman and Kyle Larson rounded out the top-10 on the speed chart.

Notably, Ryan Blaney will start last in his heat race due to turning around to restart his lap. Previously, that was allowed but not this season.

Ty Gibbs who is competing full-time in the NASCAR Cup Series for the first time wasn’t allowed to qualifying after the team made unapproved adjustments. Earlier in practice, his No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota ignited into flames. The young Gibbs safely climbed from the burning car.

Sunday’s heat races will get underway at 5 p.m. ET, followed by the Busch Light Clash at the Coliseum at 8 p.m. ET. All of Sunday’s coverage will be found on FOX.

Below are the heat race lineups

Heat No. 1

1.) #31 Justin Haley

2.) #10 Aric Almirola

3.) #88 Alex Bowman

4.) #21 Harrison Burton

5.) #22 Joey Logano

6.) #42 Noah Gragson

7.) #34 Michael McDowell

8.) #17 Chris Buescher

9.) #77 Ty Dillon

Heat No. 2

1.) #8 Kyle Busch

2.) #3 Austin Dillon

3.) #5 Kyle Larson

4.) #4 Kevin Harvick

5.) #47 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

6.) #19 Martin Truex Jr.

7.) #2 Austin Cindric

8.) #9 Chase Elliott

9.) #78 BJ McLeod

Heat No. 3

1.) #20 Christopher Bell

2.) #11 Denny Hamlin

3.) #99 Daniel Suarez

4.) #14 Chase Briscoe

5.) #45 Tyler Reddick

6.) #6 Brad Keselowski

7.) #38 Todd Gilliland

8.) #15 JJ Yeley

9.) #12 Ryan Blaney

Heat No. 4

1.) #24 William Byron

2.) #16 AJ Allmedinger

3.) #1 Ross Chastain

4.) #23 Bubba Wallace

5.) #43 Erik Jones

6.) #41 Ryan Preece

7.) #7 Corey LaJoie

8.) #51 Cody Ware

9.) #54 Ty Gibbs

Photo Credit: James Gilbert/Getty Images

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.