Miller And Puryear Score Victories At Carteret Spring Thaw

Miller And Puryear Score Victories At Carteret Spring Thaw

by April 16, 2019 0 comments

PELETIER, N.C. – Zach Miller picked up his first victory in his first start at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway on Sunday in Legends competition while Stacy Puryear broke through to pick up the victory in Limited Late Models.

Miller, 20, from South Charleston, Ohio, started on the pole and led wire-to-wire in the 30 lap INEX Legends feature which boasted one of the most competitive fields in Carteret County Speedway history.  Miller held off Dillon Spain to pick up the victory.

“I just focused on my marks,” Miller stated in victory lane.  “That last restart put those fast guys up there with me so I tried not to make any mistakes and was hooked up for the feature.”

The 18-car field saw drivers from all over North America compete as racers prepare for the INEX Legends Asphalt Nationals which will be held at Carteret County Speedway from October 17th through October 19th.

“This race was to help us get practice for the Nationals this fall,” Miller continued.  “The track’s really awesome.  The facilities are fantastic.  I’ve never seen a local track like this in my life.  We’re definitely going to come back for Nationals.”

Dillon Spain had to start at the rear of the field and raced his way up through the field, but he ultimately settled for a runner-up finish.

“I had to work the outside there for a decent bit,” Spain remarked.  “I think I burned my stuff up.  We decided to come race here at about 10 o’clock last night so, for the amount of time we had to get the car prepared, I was pretty happy with it.  Hopefully, we can come back next time and start where we’re supposed to.”

Miller’s teammate, Caleb Heady, finished third, while two-time division champion Brenton Irving finished fourth and Nick Ledson finished fifth.  Emily Day, Landen Lewis, Sam Butler, Eric Courtney, and Brian May rounded out the top-10.

Chris Burns had the dominant car in the 60 lap Limited Late Model feature, but Stacy Puryear had saved his best for later in the race.  Puryear charged past Burns with 37 laps to go.

Burns closed back in on Puryear and made the pass for the lead in turn three with six laps to go in the race, but Caleb Day spun in turn one just as Burns completed the pass which brought out the caution which resulted in Puryear maintaining the lead by virtue of being the leader at the last completed lap.

“What a great race today between me and Chris,” Puryear said.  “I was just trying to ride and save my tires for the first 35 laps.  T.J. [Barron] was running real good.  We just together with [Clements] here and it knocked the toe off just a little bit but, he was strong there at the end.  Just so thankful to get this win.”

The caution set up a chaotic restart which ultimately allowed Brandon Clements, who took the outside line on the final restart, to slip by Burns for a second-place finish.

“It was good hard racing,” Clements remarked.  “We definitely didn’t have a second-place car.  Just had to get up on the wheel and make something happen.  I was surprised nobody went high.  Good job Stacy.  That was fun, good racing.  I’m sure the fans that were here enjoyed it.”

Chris Burns finished in third while T.J. Barron and Mike Bledsoe rounded out the top-five.

Robert Arch muscled his way past Neil Mason in the closing laps of the U-CAR feature.

Mason had dominated much of the event before Robert Arch was able to run him down with two laps to go. Coming to the white flag, Arch got into Mason as Mason tried to hold him off.  Arch then went on to pick up his second consecutive U-CAR victory at Carteret County Speedway while Mason came away with a runner-up finish.

After the race, the two drivers had a vocal disagreement on the frontstretch.

“He’s off thumping his mouth about something,” Arch said in victory lane.  “He’s on the pole because I didn’t show up for qualifying yesterday because I come from three hours away to race down here.  Was passing him on lap five from the back, and then he turned down on me.  Then I had to run him down from straightaway and he did it again.  The second time, we’re racing for the win.  He didn’t wreck.  Don’t really know.

“I really hope the fans enjoyed that.  We’ll see y’all at the next one just so [Mason] can’t win.”

Mason led 23 of the race’s 25 laps, but the contact from Arch relegated him to a second place finished and left him displeased after the race.

“Robert’s a good dude but that was not cool,” Mason said.  “Him and I will talk about it later.  This stuff ain’t cheap.  That’s kind of why I get hot when I get turned into the fence when I led the entire race.  We’ll come back.  We’re going to beat him but we’re going to beat him straight up.  I’m not going to wreck him to beat him.  I’m just going to fix our stuff and we’re going to come out and beat him.”

Andrew Jackson finished third while Curtis Lanier and Joe Lanier rounded out the top-five.

Stephen Sanders passed Kris Hetu in the closing laps of the Sportsman’s Wholesale Mini-Stock feature to score the victory.  Chris Burns held off Mike Conner to win in the Battlefield Tire Pros Street Stock feature.  Johnny Johnson was the overall winner in the East Coast Flathead Ford Racing Association.  Chase Singletary lapped the field en route to a win in Mini Cup competition while Caleb Braswell was the winner in Jr. Mini Cup competition.

The next race at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway will be Clash at the Coast on Saturday, April 27th.  The Clash will feature Limited Late Models, Legends, Mini-Stocks, Street Stocks, Mini Cups, Champ Karts and U-CARs.

For more information about Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway, visit the track’s official website at“like” Carteret County Speedway on Facebook orfollow @carteretcoswy on Twitter.

Carteret County 4/14/19 Results

Limited Late Model

1.    Stacy Puryear

2.    Brandon Clements

3.    Chris Burns

4.    T.J. Barron

5.    Mike Bledsoe

6.    Caleb Day

INEX Legends

1.    Zach Miller

2.    Dillon Spain

3.    Caleb Heady

4.    Brenton Irving

5.    Nick Ledson

6.    Emily Day

7.    Landen Lewis

8.    Sam Butler

9.    Eric Courtney

10. Brian May

11. Kevin Foisy

12. Brian Sullivan

13. Dwayne Holder

14. Tucker Jones

15. Joel Carlyle

16. Josh Spence

17. Belle Rondeau

18. Zack Brown – DNS

19. Trevor Thacker – DNS

20. Dawson Drimmie – DNS

Sportsman’s Wholesale Mini-Stock

1.    Stephen Sanders

2.    Kris Hetu

3.    Duane Walker

4.    Lee Kozikowski

5.    Travis Provost

6.    Adam Resnick

7.    Gary Murphy

8.    Andrew Deal

9.    Jesse Jones – DNS

East Coast Flatheads

1.    Johnny Johnson

2.    Wayne Lawson

3.    Dennis Andrews

4.    Richard Wilke

5.    Dwain Parks

6.    Jerry Tuttle

7.    Jerry Stroud


1.    Robert Arch

2.    Neil Mason

3.    Andrew Jackson

4.    Curtis Lanier

5.    Joe Lanier

6.    Brian Mattice

7.    Abby Jolly

8.    Steve Sullivan

Battlefield Tire Pros Street Stock

1.    Chris Burns

2.    Mike Cooper

3.    John Sharp

4.    Gary Rochelle, Jr.

5.    Billy Slater – DNS

Mini Cup

1.    Chase Singletary

2.    Caleb Braswell (JRMC)

3.    Charles Pudenz

4.    Scotty Benford (JRMC)

5.    Alexis Steffan (JRMC) – DNS

Source: Andy Marquis/Carteret County Speedway

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.