Ty Gibbs Becomes First Repeat Winner Of 2022 With Atlanta Motor Speedway Win

Ty Gibbs Becomes First Repeat Winner Of 2022 With Atlanta Motor Speedway Win

by March 19, 2022 1 comment

HAMPTON, Ga. – Ty Gibbs became the first repeat winner of 2022 when he took the checkered flag in the Nalley Cars 250 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

Gibbs only led one lap on Saturday evening; however, it was the most important one. The road to Victory Lane wasn’t easy for Gibbs. He overshot his pit stall and had to rally back from 29th. The chaos that led to double overtime allowed Gibbs to take advantage and move up through the field. On the final restart of the race, Gibbs lined up on the outside of the second row behind Ryan Sieg. As the field took the white flag, Gibbs faked to the high side and then dove underneath Sieg heading into Turn 1. From that point, Gibbs had command of the race as the field battled behind him.

“That was awesome,” Gibbs said. “First of all, I want to give the glory to my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. I want to thank Him for letting me experience these moments. Second off, my team. I wouldn’t be here without them. Thank you to AJ (Allmendinger) for pushing me. That was awesome. What the heck. This is so cool. Never give up.”

The victory marks Gibbs’ second of the season and the sixth of his career in the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

“It was so cool to win this one,” Gibbs said. “It was so unexpected. The speedways where were we struggled in the past so to win it in this Sport Clips Toyota GR Supra shows we improved. We came back from 29th and messing up on pit road. The win is awesome. Still things that I have to fix and work on, but let’s go.”

Austin Hill finished second, followed by AJ Allmendinger, Riley Herbst and Landon Cassill. Rounding out the top-10 was Mason Massey, Brandon Jones, Kyle Weatherman, Sheldon Creed and Sieg.

The 172-lap race saw 11 lead changes among 10 drivers. Allmendinger led a race high of 41 laps.

There were five multi-car accidents throughout the race. The largest crash of the race occurred on Lap 154, when a chain reaction involved 12 drivers. The crash began when Trevor Bayne made contact with the outside wall in-between Turns 1 and 2. The 10th and final caution of the race featured a 12 minute and 3 second red flag due to a three-car crash involving Matt Mills, Tommy Joe Martins and Stefan Parsons in Turn 1.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series will head to Austin, Texas for the Pit Boss 250 at Circuit of the Americas on Saturday, March 26. Live coverage of the race will broadcast on FS1 at 4:30 p.m. ET.

Photo Credit: Hunter Thomas/TheFourthTurn.com

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation