“Rambo” Claims Ultimate Super Late Model Win At Lake View

“Rambo” Claims Ultimate Super Late Model Win At Lake View

by June 30, 2019 0 comments

LAKE VIEW, S.C. – On a history making night at Lake View Motor Speedway, Gaffney, SC’s Dennis “Rambo” Franklin led flag-to-flag to take the Ultimate Super Late Model win on Saturday night. It was the first time a major Super Late Model event had been held at Lake View since 1996. The 34-car field that attempted to qualify for the 40-lapper was also the biggest in the tracks 39-year history.

“You know I knew I had to get ahead of Trent [Ivey] there to start and once we got out front it was just a matter of pacing ourselves so we would have enough tire left there at the end to hold on,” said Franklin in victory lane. 

In qualifying, Trent Ivey set the fast time of 16.824 seconds, while Franklin slotted in with the third fastest time overall, but would start on the outside of row one per Ultimate Super Late Model rules. The remainder of the field was set by heat races which were won by Zack Mitchell, Ben Watkins, and Derrick Ramey.

When the green flag fell on the 40-lap Super Late Model feature, Franklin got the advantage over Ivey entering turn one to take the opening lap lead. As they battled up front, Watkins would spin a few laps later in turn four, collecting Daniel Tucker and Michael Brown. Following a few more quick cautions for spins, Franklin would maintain a slight two car length advantage Ivey. Despite Ivey’s best efforts, Franklin led the rest of the way to become the ninth different winner in nine Ultimate Super Late Model races this season. Following the lead duo at the finish were John Henderson, rookie Daulton Wilson, and Corey Gordon. Rounding out the top 10 were Donald Bradsher, Brett Hamm, Derrick Ramey, Jeff Smith, and Mitchell.

In the Limited Sportsman feature, Cameron Norris, IV claimed a dominating win in his first start in the division this year. A major wreck occurred on an early restart after Johnny Moore got crossed up in front of the field and was collected hard by Scott Patterson, Perry Page, and Justin James. Following Norris at the checkers were Ron Pope, James Hardee, Chris Powers, and Scott Lewis. Results are unofficial as of press time.

Kyle “Joker Style” Jenks gained the lead when Derek Kemper appeared to miss a shift on a restart and led the rest of the way for his second Stingerz win of the season. Jenks completed a winning weekend that began with a victory on Friday night at Fayetteville Motor Speedway. Kemper rebounded to finish second over Andrew Rabon, Andrew Rowell, and Kevin Jordan.

James Amerson made his first Lake View start of 2019 a good one as he led all the win to take the Sharp Mini Late Model win presented by All About Cars in Little River, SC. Johnny Pridgen came back from a couple of spins to finish second over Matt Harden, Albert Brayfield, and Payton Johnson.

Lake View Motor Speedway will be in action again next Saturday night, July 6 when the Mid-East Modified Tour returns, along with Late Models Limited Sportsman, Renegades, and Stingerz, plus fireworks. Be sure to “Like” Lake View Motor Speedway on Facebook and go to @LakeViewDirt on Twitter to keep up on all that’s going on in 2019 or visit lakeviewmotorspeedway.com.

Source: Lake View Speedway

Photo Credit: Brandon Montgomery/ Full Throttle Racing Photography

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.