Sam Yarbrough Captures First Win Of 2019 At Myrtle Beach Speedway

Sam Yarbrough Captures First Win Of 2019 At Myrtle Beach Speedway

by March 17, 2019 1 comment

MYRTLE BEACH, S.C. – Sam Yarbrough won his first race of the 2019 season at Myrtle Beach Speedway on Saturday night during the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Late Model portion of the Performance Plus 300 presented by Safety-Kleen.

Yarbrough entered the weekend coming off a fifth and fourth-place finish in the twin races that were held during the annual Spring Fling earlier in March. On Saturday, the former Myrtle Beach Speedway track champion started from the pole, but he quickly lost the lead to Ryan Glenski, who led the majority of the of the 75-lap race.

The only caution during the race occurred on lap 42, when Kevin Parsons stalled on the backstretch while trying to get to pit road.

On the restart, it was Glenski secured in first with Ed Williams alongside of him. Nick Sanchez and Yarbrough made up the second row. When the green flag dropped, Glenski took off and was able to solidify the top spot as the field headed onto the backstretch.

Yarbrough was able to make his way around Glenski to lead lap 49. In the closing laps Yarbrough had to maneuver around heavy lapped traffic, but he held on for the win.

Finishing behind Yarbrough was Tommy Lemons Jr. in the second position. Sanchez, David Roberts and Justin Milliken rounded out the top-five.

Myrtle Beach Speedway will be back in action on Saturday, April 20 for Fan Appreciation Night. The event is set to feature the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series, as well as Super Trucks, Chargers and Mini Stocks.

Photo Credit: Hunter Thomas/

1 Comment so far

Jump into a conversation