Kyle Busch Wins In Double NASCAR Overtime At Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Kyle Busch Wins In Double NASCAR Overtime At Las Vegas Motor Speedway

by March 3, 2019 0 comments

LAS VEGAS – Kyle Busch got one step closer to the weekend sweep at Las Vegas Motor Speedway after winning the NASCAR Xfinity Series Boyd Gaming 300 in double NASCAR Overtime on Saturday.

On the final restart of the afternoon, John Hunter Nemechek lined up on the inside with Busch to his outside. When the green flag flew for the final time, the two drivers raced side-by-side, until Busch got the advantage entering Turn 3 and solidified himself in the top spot. Nemechek wasn’t able to challenge for the win on the final lap as Busch went on to win his 93rd-career NASCAR Xfinity Series race.

“I thought this would be the toughest of the three,” said Busch, driver of the No. 18 Extreme Concepts/iK9 Toyota. “We had a fast race car but we could never get the balance even in the race right there. I was either way too tight or way too loose, I could never find a happy medium.”

Nemechek started the race in 10th and finished second, claiming his first top-five of the season. Noah Gragson finished third, followed by Austin Dillon and Michael Annett. Rounding out the top-10 was Ryan Sieg, Ross Chastain, Chase Briscoe, Cole Custer and Justin Haley.

Throughout the 213-lap race, there were 12 lead changes among six leaders.

There were also seven cautions for 37 laps.

The race was sent into its first NASCAR Overtime when contact from pole-sitter Cole Custer sent Brand Jones nose first into the outside wall in Turn 3 to bring out the caution on lap 200.

The caution flew for the final time on lap 207 to send the race into double NASCAR Overtime. Tyler Reddick got loose in Turn 4, slid up the track and hit Christopher Bell. The two drivers spun and with nowhere to go, Zane Smith nailed Reddick. Austin Cindric also made heavy contact with the spinning car of Bell.

The NASCAR Xfinity Series will visit ISM Raceway on Saturday, March 9. Live coverage of the race will broadcast on FOX Sports 1 (FS1) and the Motor Racing Network (MRN) at 4 p.m. ET.

Photo Credit: Robert Laberge/Getty Images

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.