zMAX Dragway To Host First-Ever SuperMotocross World Championship Race Saturday

zMAX Dragway To Host First-Ever SuperMotocross World Championship Race Saturday

by September 7, 2023 0 comments

CONCORD, N.C. – North Carolina’s zMax Dragway will host the first-ever playoff race in the SuperMotocross World Championship (SMX) on Saturday.

What is SMX?

It’s a league that combines the most talented riders of the Monster Energy Supercross Championship and PRO Motorcross Championship, and the riders compete on the world’s most challenging courses. If you are unfamiliar with dirt bike racing, Supercross is arena racing, and PRO Motocross riders race outdoors in a variety of elements.

The Monster Energy Supercross Championship hosts 17 rounds, while the PRO Motocross Championship hosts 11 Rounds. This weekend’s inaugural SuperMotocross Championship event is the first of three rounds. Following the race in Concord, riders will then compete in Chicago before the final round in Los Angeles. Within the three races, $5.5 million will be up for grabs. The 450cc champion will be awarded $1 million, and the 250cc champion will be awarded $500,000. The remaining millions will be dispersed throughout the fields.

Who is competing?

Riders who are within the top-20 in their respective regular season standings are locked-in to the main event, and then positions 21-30 must race in through the Last Chance Qualifier (LCQ); however, due to injuries, the fields will feature additional transfer sports this weekend.

There are 60 riders between two divisions entered into this weekend’s event. In the 450cc field, 19 riders are locked in, and three riders will have to race through the LCQ to make the main event. There are 18 riders locked into the 250cc, and four additional riders will race in through the LCQ.


Main Event Lock

1. Chase Sexton

2. Aaron Plessinger

3. Jett Lawrence

4. Adam Cianciarulo

5. Dylan Ferrandis

6. Cooper Webb

7. Jason Anderson

8. Ken Roczen

9. Justin Barcia

10. Fredrik Noren

 11. Grant Harlan

 12. Garrett Marchbanks

 13. Ty Masterpool

 14. Justin Hill

 15. Kyle Chisholm

 16. Dean Wilson

 17. Shane McElrath

 18. Colt Nichols

 19. Joshua Hill

Must Race Through LCQ

20.  Phillip Nicoletti

 21. Kevin Moranz

 22. Justin Starling

 23. Joshua Cartwright

 24. Jerry Robin

 25. Jeremy Hand

 26. Bryce Shelly

 27. Jace Kessler

 28. Max Miller


Main Event Lockc

1. Hunter Lawrence

2. Haiden Deegan

3. Levi Kitchen

4. RJ Hampshire

5. Jo Shimoda

6. Tom Vialle

7. Maximus Vohland

8. Justin Cooper

9. Jordan Smith

10. Jalek Swoll

11. Ryder DiFrancesco

 12. Talon Hawkins

 13. Max Anstie

 14. Pierce Brown

 15. Dilan Schwartz

 16. Carson Mumford

 17. Caden Braswell

 18. Seth Hammaker

Must Transfer Through LCQ

19. Chis Blose

20. Derek Kelley

21. Cullin Park

22. Austin Forkner

23. Coty Schock

24. Preston Kilroy

25. Joshua Varize

26. Michael Hicks

27. Hunter Yoder

28. Luke Neese

The zMAX Dragway Course

The course has been constructed atop the dragway that feature’s NHRA’s top stars twice a year. Riders will zig-zag and fly through the air as they navigate the challenging course.


Friday, Sept. 8

8 a.m. – 6 p.m.  |  Camper Parking and Registration

11 a.m. – 7 p.m.                 |  Fan Fest Open

12 – 2 p.m.  |  SMX Free Practice (All Groups)

2:30 – 3:30 p.m.  |  Rider Autograph Session

4:30 – 5:30 p.m.  |  Live Music

7 – 9 p.m.  |  Movie Night

*Schedule subject to change.

Saturday, Sept. 9

8 a.m. – 6 p.m.  |  Spectator Gates Open (1 and 2)

8 a.m. – 12 p.m. |  Super Parking Open

9 a.m. to 1 hour post-race  |  Trams Running

9:20 a.m. – 12:46 p.m.  |  SMX Practice & Qualifying

11:30 a.m. to 1 hour post-race  |  Fan Assistance & ADA Golf Carts Running

12 p.m.  |  Fan Fest/Early Entry Open

2:30 p.m.  |  Opening Ceremonies

Photo Credit: zMAX Dragway

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.