Wisconsin’s Ty Majeski Paces Saturday’s Practice At Milwaukee Mile Speedway

Wisconsin’s Ty Majeski Paces Saturday’s Practice At Milwaukee Mile Speedway

by August 26, 2023 0 comments

Story/Photo by Alex Nowak

WEST ALLIS, WI – Ty Majeski is heralded as the “Short Track King of Wisconsin”, and he proved that again today by leading all times in practice at the Milwaukee Mile Speedway.

Majeski has won the Slinger Nationals three times, he’s a five-time ARCA Midwest Series champion, a three-time Oktoberfest race winner, and he even made the trip down to Florida to win the 2020 Snowball Derby.

Majeski, who is NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series Playoff point leader, was fastest in practice today, running a 30.351-second lap around the historic Milwaukee Mile. He enters this weekend’s race coming off a win at Lucas Oil Indianapolis Raceway Park (IRP).

“On the NASCAR side, it’s sort of a cross between Gateway and IRP. You have a lot of corner grip and carry a lot of speed there, and IRP is more of a short track with not a lot of grip, so this place is a little of both, and we’re just trying to bring a similar package between the two.”

While Majeski doesn’t have a lot of experience at the Milwaukee Mile, he compared it to La Crosse Fairgrounds Speedway as a similar track with some short track comparisons.

“On the short track side of things, there’s not a lot of tracks like Milwaukee, but I would say it’s similar to La Crosse,” Majeski said. “There’s long, flat corners, but we don’t get to come here that often with a Super Late Model. There’s just not a lot of places in Wisconsin like this.”

Majeski gave high praise to all his teammates this weekend. They all share information between the teams to try and win. NASCAR hasn’t raced at the Milwaukee Mile in more than 10 years. The last NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series race was in 2009, and it was won by Ron Hornaday Jr.

Majeski believes that ThorSport Racing’s five trucks have a shot at winning this weekend. Teammates Ben Rhodes was 14th quickest, Connor Jones 16th, Hailie Deegan 18th and Matt Crafton 27th.

Overall, following Majeski on the speed chart during Saturday’s only practice session were NASCAR Playoff contenders Nick Sanchez, Carson Hocevar, Matt DiBenedetto, Zane Smith and Corey Heim. Chase Purdy was seventh fastest, followed by Sean Hingorani, Jake Garica and Christan Eckes.

The NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series will qualify on Sunday at 11:30 a.m. ET, followed by the Clean Harbors 175 at 4 p.m. ET.  Live coverage will broadcast on FS1.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.