Stephen Sanders Claims Victory In Wild Mini-Stock Showdown; Carsyn Gillikin Wins First All-Female Race In Carteret County

Stephen Sanders Claims Victory In Wild Mini-Stock Showdown; Carsyn Gillikin Wins First All-Female Race In Carteret County

by August 9, 2020 0 comments

PELETIER, N.C. – Stephen Sanders was victorious in a wild Mini-Stock race at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway while Carsyn Gillikin picked up the win in a historic first in the Jr. Mini Cup division.

Sanders, who won the Battlefield Tire Pros Mini-Stock division championship in 2018 and 2019, roared past Michael Tucker, who fell out of the race with a mechanical problem, on lap 30 in the caution-marred race to take the lead and the win – his first of the year at Carteret.  After the race, the Midway Missile was all smiles after winning at his home away from home alongside his wife, Sydney, in a car normally piloted by his father, Mini-Stock legend AJ Sanders.

“We might be four hours from home but this is home to us,” Sanders said in victory lane.  “I’ve got to thank the good Lord.  This is for my wife’s grandma.  She passed away this week, this is for her.  I’d like to thank everybody for coming to help.  This is a big win for me.  I’d also like to thank my dad.  I sold out of racing last week.  He gave me an awesome ride this week.”

James Horner raced his way to a second-place finish, tying his career-best in a Mini-Stock at Carteret while Jason Adams, Lee Kozikowski and Joshua Caldwell rounded out the top-five.  10th place finisher Andrew Jackson won a $200 “Dash for Cash” bonus from Sandy’s Automotive.

Morehead City’s Carsyn Gillikin picked up her second feature win in a historic Jr. Mini Cup feature race – the first all-female field in Carteret County Speedway history.  Gillikin led wire-to-wire in the 15 lap race, beating out Alexis Steffan and Summer Sullivan.

“It’s a blast,” Gillikin said.  “I’m glad that I was able to come out here and finally race with both of my other cousins.  It was a great race.  I had a lot of fun and I’m glad it was an all-girls race.  That’s the amazing thing about it.   I think we’re the first girls to race altogether.  This is a good feeling.”

Alexis Steffan’s runner-up finish was the best run and result she had had in her career.

“It was so much fun,” Steffan said after the race.  “It feels so good to be at a competitive level and having enough speed to finally catch up to them.

Sanford’s Jody Measamer remains undefeated at Carteret County Speedway after winning in the Team Chevrolet of Swansboro Super Truck Series feature over Chris Burns and Travis Wilson.  Measamer led wire-to-wire but was never able to pull away from Burns.

“Five in a row,” Measamer said.  “I’ve got to thank all my guys.  This was a tough race.  The used tire program is good, it just threw me for a curve tonight.  We put a lot of effort and work in this thing and try to get here to let it show.”

Steve Sullivan held off the father and son duo of Joe Lanier and Curtis Lanier in the U-CAR feature race.  Tyler Foster picked up his second career Champ Kart win with a last lap pass on teammate Sean Wales.  Duane Walker picked up his second consecutive Bomber victory and Joseph Bryant was victorious in the Mini Cup feature race.

The next race at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway will be the Davey Allison Memorial on Saturday, August 22nd.  The Allison Legacy Series will compete at Carteret County Speedway for the first time and NASCAR legend Donnie Allison will be on hand as a special guest.

For more information about Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway, visit the track’s official website at“like” Carteret County Speedway on Facebook or follow @carteretcoswy on Twitter and Instagram.



  1. Jody Measamer
  2. Chris Burns
  3. Travis Wilson
  4. Chris Elliott
  5. Willie Grainger
  6. Justin Hewett


  1. Stephen Sanders
  2. James Horner
  3. Jason Adams
  4. Lee Kozikowski
  5. Joshua Caldwell
  6. Myles Tucker
  7. Mike Herron
  8. Kris Hetu
  9. Michael Tucker
  10. Andrew Jackson
  11. Shannon Ward
  12. Isaac Chandler
  13. Patrick Arch
  14. Randy Hewett
  15. Travis Miller
  16. Neil Mason
  17. Jesse Heath
  18. Andrew Deal
  19. Brantley Dawson
  20. Travis Provost
  21. John Hladick, Jr.


  1. Steve Sullivan
  2. Joe Lanier
  3. Curtis Lanier
  4. Abby Jolly
  5. Duane Walker
  6. Duhon Carter


  1. Duane Walker
  2. Tyler Stalls
  3. Nick White
  4. Victoria Dawson
  5. Ricky Houser, Jr.
  6. Paul Speight


  1. Carsyn Gillikin
  2. Alexis Steffan
  3. Summer Sullivan
  4. Mylah Provost


  1. Joseph Bryant
  2. Aiden Hetu
  3. Roy Combs


  1. Tyler Foster
  2. Sean Wales
  3. Josh Eubanks
  4. Todd Grinolds
  5. Darrell Eubanks
  6. Timothy Geisen

Source: Carteret County Speedway

By: Andy Marquis

Photo Credit: Michael Sides

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.