Barron Finally Finds Victory Lane At Carteret

Barron Finally Finds Victory Lane At Carteret

by April 29, 2019 0 comments

PELETIER, N.C. – TJ Barron outlasted the competition in Saturday’s Clash at the Coast to score his first career victory at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway.

Barron made his move late in the race, passing Brandon Clements on lap 48 in the 60-lap race and driving away for his first Carteret County Speedway win.  The victory was special for Barron.  He was able to snap a winless drought that dated back to 2013 when he last won at Coastal Plains Raceway in Jacksonville.  After the race, he was given the winner’s trophy by his youngest son, Colton.

“This is pretty special,” Barron said in victory lane.  “We worked our butts off man.  This place has eluded me for last year and the first part of this year.  We had a good car.  It’s been since 2013 since we last won.  We finally won somewhere else besides Coastal Plains.  That’s pretty special.”

Chris Burns dominated for much of the first part of the race, but Clements was able to get in position to make a run at the lead when electing to start on the outside after a lap 35 caution.  On lap 37, Clements was able to make his way around Burns before eventually surrendering the lead to Barron.  Clements settled for second.

“I don’t know why everybody’s scared to jump out there, you can make it happen,” Clements remarked.  “We’re chipping away at it, little at a time.  It’s getting better and better.  I think we’ll come back out next time and we’ll have the heat for them.”

Eric Winslow finished third while Chris Burns and Rusty Daniels rounded out the top-five.

Jordan Lamothe led only one lap in the Legends feature, but it was the most important lap.

Lamothe inherited the lead on the last lap when race leaders Emily Day and Brian Sullivan wrecked on the backstretch.  The incident between Day and Sullivan immediately brought out the caution flag, which ended the race, allowing Lamothe to score his first Carteret County Speedway victory.

“I don’t really know what happened back there,” Lamothe said.  “I hope they’re both okay.  Sometimes it doesn’t matter what lap you lead as long as you’re the first one who crosses the start-finish line.  I just have to thank my mom, dad, fiancé, and everyone for all the support.  I hope the fans had a good time.”

Spencer Saunders finished in second while Shane Irving, Zack Brown and Aaron Crumpler rounded out the top-five.

Robert Arch picked up the victory in the Mini-Stock division, his third Carteret County Speedway win of the year, holding off Kris Hetu and Stephen Sanders.  After competing in the Mini-Stock feature, Sanders headed north to Winston-Salem where he won the Stadium Stock feature at Bowman Gray Stadium’s season opener later Saturday night.

Arch also competed in the U-CAR division, where he picked up his first two wins of the year, finishing second to Andrew Jackson.  The victory was Jackson’s first of the year.

Chris Burns picked up his second consecutive Street Stock victory over Mike Cooper and Billy Slater, while Sean Wales was victorious in Champ Kart competition and Charles Pudenz won in the Mini Cup feature.

The next race at Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway, scheduled for May 11th, will be the first night race of the 2019 season.  The Short Track Shootout is headlined by a $2,500-to-win Legends race which appears destined to attract one of the largest fields in Carteret County Speedway history.

For more information about Bobby Watson’s Carteret County Speedway, visit the track’s official website at“like” Carteret County Speedway on Facebook orfollow @carteretcoswy on Twitter.

Carteret County Speedway 4/27/19 Results

Limited Late Model

1.    T.J. Barron

2.    Brandon Clements

3.    Eric Winslow

4.    Chris Burns

5.    Rusty Daniels

6.    Tyler Horne

INEX Legends

1.    Jordan Lamothe

2.    Spencer Saunders

3.    Shane Irving

4.    Zack Brown

5.    Aaron Crumpler

6.    Brian Sullivan

7.    Emily Day

8.    Trevor Thacker

9.    Matt Bell

10. Josh Spence

11. Brent Norris

12. Brenton Irving

Battlefield Tire Pros Street Stock

1.    Chris Burns

2.    Mike Cooper

3.    Billy Slater

4.    John Sharp

5.    Dennis Woehrle

6.    Roy Marley

7.    Gary Rochelle, Jr.


1.    Robert Arch

2.    Kris Hetu

3.    Stephen Sanders

4.    Travis Provost

5.    Gary Murphy

6.    Travis Miller

7.    Adam Resnick

8.    Andrew Deal


1.    Andrew Jackson

2.    Robert Arch

3.    Steve Sullivan

4.    Curtis Lanier

5.    Joe Lanier

6.    Abby Jolly

7.    Brian Mattice

Champ Kart

1.    Sean Wales

2.    Cory Dimauro

3.    Justin Mitchell

4.    Gaston Davis

Mini Cup

1.    Charles Pudenz

2.    Roy Combs, III

Source/Photo Credit: Andy Marquis/Carteret County Speedway

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.