PHOTOS: 2018 NASCAR Hall Of Fame Induction Ceremony

by January 20, 2018 0 comments

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The ninth class of the NASCAR Hall of Fame was inducted on Friday night in Uptown Charlotte. This year’s class included Red Byron, Ray Evernham, Ron Hornaday Jr., Ken Squire and Robert Yates.

Red Byron won the first-ever NASCAR sanctioned event and championship in 1948.

Ray Evernham is most notably known for his work atop the pit box as he served as the crew chief for four-time Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion, Jeff Gordon. In 213 races, Evernham earned 47 wins and 30 poles.

Ron Hornaday Jr. became the first representative of the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series to ever be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Hornaday Jr. was one of the original drivers who competed in the series’ inaugural 1995 season. Throughout his 360 starts, Hornaday Jr. won 51 races and earned 27 poles.

Ken Squire became the first full-time media member to be inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame. He coined the phrase “The Great American Race” and is best known for his storytelling on MRN, CBS and TBS.

Robert Yates is one of the most successful engine builders and car owners that has ever competed in NASCAR’s premier series. Robert Yates Racing won 57 races as it operated between 1989 and 2009.

On Friday night, Jim France was awarded the Landmark Award, and Norma “Dusty” Brandel was presented the Squier-Hall Award.

Hunter Thomas was at the NASCAR Hall of Fame taking photos during the 2018 NASCAR Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. Check out the photos that he captured throughout the night.


No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.