Dillon Motor Speedway Concludes The 2016 Season With The Fall Spectacular

Dillon Motor Speedway Concludes The 2016 Season With The Fall Spectacular

by October 26, 2016 0 comments

DILLON, S.C. (October 26, 2016): Dillon Motor Speedway hosted the season-ending 13th annual Fall Spectacular BASH this past weekend on Sunday and Saturday, October 22-23 with a record car count of more than 115 entries.

To kick the prestigious weekend off, Kevin Ellis won the Charger feature on Saturday afternoon; however, the victory didn’t come easy. In the closing laps of the feature, Ellis had to hold off Dale Driggers, who finished second. Michael Covington crossed the finish line in third. Rounding out the top-five was Glenn Mappus and Brian Crump.

The Super Trucks also hit the banks of Dillon Motor Speedway on Saturday. Clay Thomas took the checkered flag and the $1,100 purse. Hayes Goodson captured a strong runner-up finish, while Kevin Parson finished third. Jody Measamer, Thomas’ teammate finished fourth. Willie Grainger completed the top-10.

Michael Elliott, who was pulling double duty, won the Late Model Invitational non-winners feature sponsored by Rankin Race Engines. Jason Clark, Jordan Smith, Archie Adams Jr. and Eric Gerchek rounded out the top-five.

Chad Wall took the checkered flag in the Pro Four Cylinder feature. AJ Sanders and Randy Canipe finished second and third respectively. Brad Martin finished fourth, and Rennie Moore finished fifth.

On Sunday, Sonny Schoffen dominated to win the eighth Mid-Atlantic Street Stock (MASS) race of the 2016 season. In close pursuit during the closing laps was Ricky Locklair Jr., who finished second. As for the battle for third, it was a close one, but Jeff Melton was able to outrun Gary Ledbetter and Bobby Tumbleston. A stout field of 24 Street Stock drivers showed up to the track this past weekend.

The second race of the afternoon on Sunday was the Late Model feature. Ryan Hall led the majority of the first half of the 100-lap feature, but in the second half, it was Ben Stanton, who dominated. Stanton went on to win the $2,500 purse. AJ Walsh was making a hard charge in the finals laps, but he came up just short to finish second. Hall managed to finish third, followed by Jordan Smith and Archie Adams Jr.

Patrick Arch and Duane Walker battled door-to-door for the win in the Pure Stock Four feature. Arch won the race with Walker finishing a close second. Marty Dean, Steven Sanders and Tim Geason completed the top-five.

Bill Willis led flag-to-flag to win the Mini Cup Feature on Sunday. Trey Shuler finished second, while Chase Hall, Dakota Rose and Steve Brewer completed the top-five.

The final race of the 2016 season was the Banger feature. Brad Page and Tony Harkers raced each other hard throughout the race. In the end, it was Page winning and Harkers finishing a close second. Tasha Hetu finished third, and LD Johnson finished fourth. Glenn Peterson finished fifth.

Dillon Motor Speedway’s next race will be the annual New Year’s BASH on Friday and Saturday, January 6-7, 2017. Details for the event are still developing, but the Mid-Atlantic Street Stocks will compete for bragging rights and $2,000.

For more information, please visit Follow Dillon Motor Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter, @DillonSpeedway. You may also call the race hotline at 843.496.4790.

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment