Chase Briscoe Wins SCOTT 150, Bill France Four Crown at Chicagoland

Chase Briscoe Wins SCOTT 150, Bill France Four Crown at Chicagoland

by September 15, 2016 0 comments

JOLIET, Ill. — Chase Briscoe locked up both his fifth win of the ARCA Racing Series season and both the Bill France Four Crown championship following a win in the SCOTT 150 at Chicagoland Speedway on Saturday night.

Briscoe’s first-ever start at a mile-and-a-half intermediate track went off in dominant fashion with the driver of the No. 77 Big Tine Ford spending over 85 of the race’s 100 laps in the lead.

At the waving of the checkered flag, Briscoe crossed the finish line ahead of second-place finisher John Wes Townley by 7.004 seconds.

“We started off the day pretty good straight off of the truck,” Briscoe said of the race. “We kind of missed the pole there before the race and got out front there in the race. We caught a couple of lapped cars at the wrong spot and Shane Lee got by us there and we got way tight behind him there and it worried me there for a second.

“The pit crew did a heck of a job to get us out front and then at the end, we had that restart and I had to restart fourth and I knew [Christopher] Bell would be my competition because he had four tires. Luckily, the top was there and I was able to take advantage of it and once we got out front it was clean sailing from there.”

Following Briscoe and Townley across the finish line in the top-10 were Christopher Bell, Kyle Weatherman, Dalton Sargeant, Austin Cindric, Travis Braden, Ty Majeski, Brent Sherman and Tom Hessert.

Other notable finishers were Sarah Cornett-Ching in 11th, A.J. Fike in 12th, Bobby Gerhart in 16th, Matt Kurzejewski in 20th, Myatt Snider in 25th and Josh Williams in 26th.

With his win, Briscoe locked up his second championship of the year with the Bill France Four Crown – a championship that takes place across four diverse race tracks on the ARCA calendar – New Jersey Motorsports Park, Lucas Oil Raceway, DuQuoin State Fairgrounds and Chicagoland.

The championship win comes less than one week after Briscoe claimed the ARCA Short Track Challenge presented by Protect Plus at Salem Speedway.

With two titles under his belt already, Briscoe now turns his attention to fully locking down the ARCA Racing Series driver’s championship this year as well as winning the General Tire Superspeedway Challenge for Cunningham Motorsports.

READ MORE: Chase Briscoe Locks Up Short Track Challenge at Salem

The first caution of the night was for debris on Lap 2 for a dislodged right-side window on Kurzejewski’s No. 52 Toyota with Kurzejewski also bringing out the second caution for a spin into the pit lane on Lap 28.

Pole-sitter and early contender Shane Lee brought out the third and final caution of the night on Lap 71 after making contact with the outside wall.

Fellow contenders Snider and Williams encountered mechanical issues in the early stages of the race with Snider being sidelined with a broken gear and Williams with vibration issues.

Up next for the ARCA Racing Series is next Friday night’s Crosley 150 at Kentucky Speedway, which will air live on FOX Sports 2 at 8:00 p.m ET.

Finishing Order of the SCOTT 150

  1. 77 – Chase Briscoe
  2. 05 – John Wes Townley
  3. 15 – Christopher Bell
  4. 10 – Kyle Weatherman
  5. 55 – Dalton Sargeant
  6. 99 – Austin Cindric
  7. 01 – Travis Braden
  8. 17 – Ty Majeski
  9. 98 – Brent Sherman
  10. 25 – Tom Hessert
  11. 2 – Sarah Cornett-Ching (-1)
  12. 27 – A.J. Fike (-2)
  13. 20 – Tom Berte (-4)
  14. 08 – Nick Higdon (-4)
  15. 9 – Thomas Praytor (-5)
  16. 5 – Bobby Gerhart (-6)
  17. 64 – Morgen Baird (-6)
  18. 34 – Mike Basham (-7)
  19. 14 – Dustin Knowles (-24)
  20. 52 – Matt Kurzejewski (-27)
  21. 32 – Shane Lee (-29)
  22. 8 – Brandon Jones (-38)
  23. 51 – Chad Finley (-60)
  24. 48 – Dylan Martin (-64)
  25. 22 – Myatt Snider (-78)
  26. 6 – Josh Williams (-79)
  27. 31 – Richard Hauck (-83)
  28. 06 – Con Nicolopoulos (-85)
  29. 1 – Rick Tackman (-88)
  30. 0 – Dale Shearer (-88)
  31. 11 – Ed Pompa (-91)
  32. 23 – Chris Bailey Jr. (-95)
  33. 00 – Brad Smith (-95)

Photo Credit:

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment