Austin Cindric Claims Kentucky Redemption, Wins Crosley 150

Austin Cindric Claims Kentucky Redemption, Wins Crosley 150

by September 23, 2016 0 comments

SPARTA, Ky. — One year after having the Crosley 150 slip out of his grasp in the late stages of the race, Austin Cindric went to victory lane in the annual 100-lap ARCA Racing Series event at Kentucky Speedway.

Cindric was the dominant driver of the race, leading 64 laps from the third starting position en route to what was his first-ever ARCA victory.

The driver of the No. 99 Pirtek Ford fended off numerous challenges from teammate Chase Briscoe, Dalton Sargeant and Matt Tifft to claim the track’s coveted jukebox trophy.

Following Cindric across the finish line respectively in the top-10 were Sargeant, Tifft, Tom Hessert, Matt Kurzejewski, Josh Williams, Bret Holmes, A.J. Fike, Shane Lee and Mark Thompson.

In his post-race press conference, Cindric said that he utilized the knowledge he gained in an open test on Tuesday in his bid for the win in what was his fifth career series start.

“I think coming here to test on Tuesday in that open test was really great,” Cindric stated. “I was a bit worried heading into the race about how the whole field was going to race together – especially based off of the XFINITY race here in June where guys weren’t really able to run in traffic.

“I think we produced a great show. I was able to use about half the high line and I was able to cut under people and I think my car was able to work really well and that’s a credit to my [crew chief] and the guys. They gave us a great pit stop and track position and I got that lead and tried not to look back.”

Restarting on a green-white-checkered restart past the scheduled race distance, Cindric was able to power away from second-place Sargeant with older tires from the inside lane.

When asked what he would have specifically needed to best the Cunningham Motorsports Ford on the final restart, Sargeant pointed to both lane choice and track position.

“I don’t know, maybe a little bit of both,” Sargeant said. “I think they just had us beat a little bit everywhere. At the end of the day, we’ll go back and go to work on our car and see if we can get it better for Kansas.

“I think there’s a couple of things we need to change. Hopefully, we’ll get some wind tunnel time and then we’ll be able to go race with these guys.”

With his runner-up finish, Sargeant unofficially moved into the lead of the ARCA Racing Series’s General Tire Superspeedway Challenge heading into the season finale at Kansas Speedway.

Friday night’s race was slowed six times for a total of 41 laps.

The first caution of the night came out in Turn 4 of the first lap as the No. 23 Chevrolet of Bret Holmes went for a spin.

Sarah Cornett-Ching brought out the second caution of the night with a vicious impact into the inside SAFER barrier on the backstretch. Cornett-Ching was checked and released from the infield care center.

Debris was the cause for the third caution of the night on Lap 38 as the fourth caution of the night on Lap 68 for a solo spin by Mark Thompson.

Lap 77 brought about the fifth caution of the night for a major accident between Briscoe and John Wes Townley with Holmes and Zane Smith also finding themselves involved in the melee.

The wrecks weren’t to end with that as another caution with five laps to go flew as contenders Kyle Weatherman and Shane Lee got together for an accident in Turn 2.

The season finale for the 2016 ARCA Racing Series season – the Kansas ARCA 150 – is set for a 7:30 p.m CT start time on Friday, October 14th. Live television coverage will be provided by FOX Sports 1.

Briscoe remains the points leader heading into the final race of the season with a commanding lead. All this year’s five-time race winner will need to do to officially wrap up the title will be to essentially fire up the engine.

Photo Credit:

Finishing Order of the Crosley 150

  1. 99 – Austin Cindric
  2. 55 – Dalton Sargeant
  3. 28 – Matt Tifft
  4. 25 – Tom Hessert
  5. 52 – Matt Kurzejewski
  6. 6 – Josh Williams
  7. 23 – Bret Holmes
  8. 27 – A.J. Fike
  9. 32 – Shane Lee
  10. 66 – Mark Thompson (-1)
  11. 08 – Nick Higdon (-3)
  12. 20 – Tom Berte (-3)
  13. 7 – Codie Rohrbaugh (-3)
  14. 9 – Thomas Praytor (-4)
  15. 11 – Rick Clifton (-6)
  16. 34 – Mike Basham (-6)
  17. 19 – David Sear (-6)
  18. 48 – Brad Smith (-7)
  19. 10 – Kyle Weatherman (-8)
  20. 64 – Mike Senica (-15)
  21. 98 – Gus Dean (-24)
  22. 77 – Chase Briscoe (-25)
  23. 05 – John Wes Townley (-25)
  24. 15 – Zane Smith (-26)
  25. 22 – Myatt Snider (-69)
  26. 06 – Con Nicolopoulos (-70)
  27. 00 – Mark Meunier (-79)
  28. 2 – Sarah Cornett-Ching (-80)
  29. 8 – Brandon Jones (-87)
  30. 1 – Ed Pompa (-93)
  31. 0 – Wayne Peterson (-95)
  32. 5 – Chris Bailey Jr. (-96)


Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment