Josh Williams Wins the Montgomery Ward Father’s Day 200

Josh Williams Wins the Montgomery Ward Father’s Day 200

by June 20, 2016 0 comments

Josh Williams went to victory lane for the second time this season in the ARCA Racing Series on Sunday, winning the Montgomery Ward Father’s Day 200 at Madison International Speedway.

Williams piloted his self-owned No. 6 Musselman’s Big Cup Applesauce Chevrolet to victory lane in a strong effort on Sunday, besting the likes of Kyle Weatherman, Nicole Behar and Ty Majeski for the race win.

The victory serves as a proper culmination for a tough week for the Josh Williams Motorsports group. Prior to packing up and heading to Madison earlier in the week, Williams didn’t have a clue if he’d be headed to the track due to a shortage of funding.

“This was a complete group effort today,” Williams said. “We weren’t even supposed to be here. We’re down on funds, and we came off the chassis dyno 45 horsepower down…not sure why. Other than that, the car was really awesome today. It was so hot that being down on horsepower probably didn’t hurt as much. I just want to wish my father a happy Father’s Day back watching back home in Florida.

“I swear I could hear my dad in my headset…he always preached to me the way to win races was to get positions on a restart. He preached that to me from day one…that’s exactly what we did.”

Completing the top-10 of the finishing order behind Williams, Weatherman, Behar and Majeski were Tom Hessert, Chase Briscoe, Matt Kurzejewski, A.J. Fike, Thomas Praytor and Will Kimmel.

With his win, Williams has unofficially closed to 115 points out of Briscoe’s points lead heading into the next race.

The ARCA Racing Series will next be in action on Sunday with the Herr’s Potato Chips 200 at Winchester Speedway. Live coverage will be provided by your local American Sports Network affiliate while live timing and scoring will be provided by

Finishing Order of the Montgomery Ward Father’s Day 200

  1. 6 – Josh Williams
  2. 98 – Kyle Weatherman
  3. 55 – Nicole Behar
  4. 17 – Ty Majeski
  5. 25 – Tom Hessert
  6. 77 – Chase Briscoe
  7. 52 – Matt Kurzejewski
  8. 27 – A.J. Fike
  9. 9 – Thomas Praytor
  10. 22 – Will Kimmel
  11. 10 – Ed Pompa
  12. 2 – Rick Tackman
  13. 14 – Dustin Knowles
  14. 15 – Christian Eckes
  15. 48 – Brad Smith
  16. 34 – Mike Basham
  17. 42 – Josh Reeves
  18. 0 – Richard Hauck
  19. 64 – Mike Senica
  20. 06 – Con Nicolopoulos
  21. 69 – Nick Higdon
  22. 23 – Chase Storch
  23. 0 – Wayne Peterson

Photo Credit:

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment