Kyle Busch Wins Coveted Martinsville Clock in Alpha Energy Solutions 250

Kyle Busch Wins Coveted Martinsville Clock in Alpha Energy Solutions 250

by April 2, 2016 0 comments

RIDGEWAY, Va. – Kyle Busch took home his first victory at Martinsville Speedway in Saturday’s Alpha Energy Solutions 250 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series race.

The driver of the No. 18 Toyota for Kyle Busch Motorsports has now won 45 times in 130 Camping World Truck Series starts.

Excited to finally take home a highly-sought after Martinsville Speedway grandfather clock for his win, Busch was excited about how the team got to where they were.

“We just haven’t never necessarily had all the pieces go together like they should have and I didn’t know that the pieces we’re going to go together today either the way all them cautions were kind of playing out, the way tire strategy was playing out, when to pit, when not to pit, how to do all of that,” Busch said. “Wes (Ward, crew chief) and I we both leaned on each other and we both had no idea, so we just dumbed into this I think, but it all worked out, so this Toyota Tundra was awesome.”

Busch led a total of 123 laps of the total 255 laps raced in the event as the race went into NASCAR Overtime.

Finishing behind Busch in second was John Hunter Nemechek. This marks his second top-10 finish in nine races at Martinsville Speedway.

“Luckily we salvaged a second-place. It sucks, I wanted the clock this year, but we still have the fall race to do that.” Nemechek said after the race.

Nemechek, driver of the No. 8 Chevrolet noted the late-race restarts as a struggle in the final laps of the race,

“The restarts were definitely hectic at the end,” Nemechek added. “I just kept spinning the tires on the restarts. We’ve got to go back and look at some things, but I could just never get to Kyle.”

Rookie William Byron took home the last of the top-three positions in his first visit to the track. The driver of the No. 9 Liberty University Toyota for Kyle Busch Motorsports claimed his first career top-10 finish in the Camping World Truck Series.

“It was a long race,” Byron noted. “The first thing was that we started out really loose and we made a few adjustments and kind of fell back to 11th or 12th. Our biggest struggling point was like midway through the race and then we start to really come on strong the last 80, 90 laps and really get good to where we could drive up to the front. I wish we could have done something on the last couple of restarts, but we were just a little bit too tight.”

Tempers and fenders were flaring on the track nicknamed “The Paperclip.” The half-mile track creates close-quarters racing and leaves no room for error.

There were 11 cautions, including two red flags, for a total of 68 laps in Saturday’s race. Bringing out the red flag on lap 237, Cole Custer, John Wes Townley and Christopher Bell suffered significant damage as they wrecked together along the backstretch. The first red flag lasted a total of 8 minutes and 32 seconds.

The second red flag of the day flew on lap 246, lasting for 4 minutes and 40 seconds after a six-car accident in Turn 3 involving Tyler Young, Timothy Peters, Tyler Reddick, Justin Haley, Ben Rhodes and Daniel Suarez.

Busch, Nemechek and Byron claimed the top-three positions in Saturday’s event, followed by Kyle Larson in fourth and Spencer Gallagher in fifth.

After his second-place finish in Saturday’s race, Nemechek holds a three-point lead over Parker Kligerman in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points standings.

The NASCAR Camping World Truck Series will not return to competition until the Toyota Tundra 250 at Kansas Speedway on May 6. Coverage will be found on FS1 and MRN at 8:30 p.m. ET.

Finishing Order of the Alpha Energy Solutions 250

  1. 18 – Kyle Busch(i)
  2. 8 – John Hunter Nemechek
  3. 9 – William Byron#
  4. 24 – Kyle Larson(i)
  5. 17 – Timothy Peters
  6. 23 – Spencer Gallagher
  7. 88 – Matt Crafton
  8. 92 – Parker Kligerman
  9. 13 – Cameron Hayley
  10. 98 – Rico Abreu#
  11. 11 – Ben Kennedy
  12. 81 – Ryan Truex
  13. 02 – Tyler Young
  14. 86 – Brandon Brown
  15. 44 – Austin Wayne Self
  16. 41 – Ben Rhodes#
  17. 07 – Shane Lee
  18. 51 – Daniel Suarez(i)
  19. 4 – Christopher Bell#
  20. 29 – Tyler Reddick
  21. 05 – John Wes Townley
  22. 19 – Daniel Hemric (-2)
  23. 1 – Bryce Napier (-6)
  24. 49 – Timmy Hill (-7)
  25. 74 – Paige Decker (-9)
  26. 32 – Justin Hayley (Accident)
  27. 10 – Claire Decker (-12)
  28. 63 – Spencer Boyd (Accident)
  29. 00 – Cole Custer# (Accident)
  30. 71 – Mike Bliss (Electrical)
  31. 33 – Kaz Grala (Accident)
  32. 21 – Johnny Sauter (Accident)

Photo Credit: Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

Camille Jones

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment