The Four Biggest Winners of the NASCAR Silly Season

The Four Biggest Winners of the NASCAR Silly Season

by February 8, 2016 0 comments

The NASCAR season is just about upon us as only a handful of days remain before the Sprint Cup season gets underway with the Sprint Unlimited at Daytona International Speedway.

Drivers and teams across all three national series are in the process or have already finalized their lineups this year; and with that, some teams can arguably have made better pickups than others.

In this piece, I take a look at two Sprint Cup teams and two Camping World Truck Series teams who I believe to have made better gains than most heading into the 2016 season.

NSCS – HScott Motorsports

HScott Motorsports scored the pickup of the silly season with the acquisition of Clint Bowyer for the 2016 Sprint Cup season.

Despite being signed to the team for a one-year contract before moving over to Stewart-Haas Racing’s No. 14 car for 2017, Bowyer gives the team an added boost that surely will help them build to bigger and better things beyond his tenure. The Emporia, Kans. native brings a decade of experience at the Sprint Cup level with him to HScott with a record of eight wins, 58 top-fives and 164 top-10s to his credit in 361 starts.

With a championship caliber driver filling out their driver roster for 2016, expect HScott Motorsports to have an outstanding season.

NSCS – Front Row Motorsports

A new technical alliance with Roush Fenway Racing and the acquisition of two talented young drivers has Front Row Motorsports’s present and future looking strong. The defending XFINITY Series champion Chris Buescher and former Hendrick Motorsports development driver Landon Cassill will drive for the team’s two-car effort for the season.

Buescher has previous experience working with the Front Row operation as he competed in select races in the No. 34 car last season – outperforming his Roush Fenway compatriots at various tracks prior to the formation of the alliance with the team.

Cassill comes to the team after driving full-time for both Hillman Racing at the Cup level and with JD Motorsports in the XFINITY Series. With the new alliance to boost the speed of the No. 34 and No. 38 cars, Cassill may finally be able to show off his true potential in NASCAR’s top series.

With the addition of two young drivers with improved cars thanks to Roush Fenway Racing, Front Row Motorsports has the opportunity to build a solid foundation to improve their stock in the NASCAR garage for the near future.

NCWTS – GMS Racing

Owned by Maury Gallagher, GMS Racing could be viewed as a vehicle of sorts to help advance his son Spencer Gallagher’s racing career.

In 2015, the team fielded two full-time entries with only one being raced by a full-time driver – that driver being Gallagher. In 2016, however, the team will expand to three full-time entries that will be piloted by three full-time drivers. Joining Gallagher at the team will be Johnny Sauter and Grant Enfinger – two drivers that will greatly benefit Gallagher’s development as a driver and help elevate the program as a whole.

Sauter brings over a decade of experience at NASCAR’s national level and comes to the team with 10 Camping World Truck Series wins under his belt. Enfinger, the defending ARCA Racing Series champion, hasn’t started in a Camping World Truck Series race in over three years, but his dominance in ARCA last year serves as a testament to the quality of a driver GMS gains in the Truck ranks.

With both pickups, GMS Racing has perhaps the most well-rounded lineup in the Camping World Truck Series; and with that, things are looking to be on the up and up for the organization.

NCWTS – Kyle Busch Motorsports

Kyle Busch Motorsports enters the 2016 Camping World Truck Series season with what is virtually a completely overhauled driver lineup with the youth of the sport being highlighted.

Christopher Bell and William Byron will be the organization’s two full-time drivers for the season and will each compete for Rookie of the Year honors.

Byron comes to the team as the defending K&N Pro Series East champion, winning the title last year in dominant fashion with four wins in 14 races. Bell had instant success for the team as he scored a top-five in his series debut with KBM at Iowa Speedway and went on to win his first career race in his third start at Eldora Speedway.

Coming from a dirt racing background, Bell has proven to be right at home on asphalt, taking home three wins in the CARS Super Late Model series in four starts in 2015.

Splitting the ride in the organization’s third truck will be returning drivers Cody Coughlin and Daniel Suarez. Coughlin, a standout in the ARCA/CRA Super Series, will work alongside Suarez, who’ll run full-time in the XFINITY Series for a second season and will serve as KBM’s ‘elder statesmen.’

Yes, the team may have lost champion Erik Jones as he moves up to the XFINITY Series, but the new wave of talented youngsters in their garage is sure to make up for his loss.

Photo Credit: Daniel Shirey/NASCAR via Getty Images

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment