Chris Buescher Crowned 2015 NASCAR XFINITY Series Champion, While Kyle Larson Wins Ford EcoBoost 300

Chris Buescher Crowned 2015 NASCAR XFINITY Series Champion, While Kyle Larson Wins Ford EcoBoost 300

by November 22, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Jonathan Ferrey/NASCAR via Getty Images

HOMESTEAD, Fla. – Roush Fenway Racing’s Chris Buescher captured his first career NASCAR XFINITY Series championship, and Kyle Larson took home the final win of the season in the Ford EcoBoost 300 at Homestead-Miami Speedway on Saturday night.

The race was dominated by the ‘Battle of the Kyles,’ where drivers Kyle Busch and Larson raced head-to-head for the lead for over half event. In the end, Larson won his third  NASCAR XFINITY Series race, marking his first of the 2015 season.

“All of these guys prepared a great Crest Chevy,” Larson said. “The moment we unloaded the truck, I don’t know if we made any adjustments, really. The car was amazing. I knew we were going to be good in the race. We didn’t qualify that well, but as soon as the green flag dropped I was able to carve my way up and almost get by Kyle (Busch) on the competition caution.”

Larson may have won the final race of the season, but the race at Homestead-Miami Speedway also decided the 2015 NASCAR XFINITY Series champion. With an 11th place finish, Chris Buescher captured yet another championship for the Roush Fenway Racing team.

“It’s obviously pretty big,” Buescher said. “This is the biggest moment in my career. Just an awesome year for our organization, for our team. The guys did a tremendous job. No DNFs all year, no mechanical failures, nothing that we beat ourselves on. You know, we were flawless in that regard, and it put us in the position to go out and win this thing like we can today. We didn’t have to go out there and win the race in order to bring a championship home. We had to make sure we finished, and we did just that.”

Buescher won the championship by only 15 points over Chase Elliott, who will be moving into the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet in 2016, filling the seat of four-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, Jeff Gordon.

Only 11 drivers finished on the lead lap on Saturday night, and there were six cautions in the race. Behind Larson, Austin Dillon finished second, Erik Jones in third, Brian Scott fourth, and Ryan Blaney rounded out the Top-five.

The 2015 NASCAR XFINITY Series has come to a close, a new champion has been crowned and the off-season has begun. The series will return to action on Saturday, February 20 at Daytona International Speedway.

Camille Jones

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment