Don Schumacher Racing Sweeps Top Fuel and Funny Car Victories During NHRA Keystone Nationals

Don Schumacher Racing Sweeps Top Fuel and Funny Car Victories During NHRA Keystone Nationals

by October 4, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: NHRA Communications Department

MOHNTON, Pa. – Don Schumacher Racing’s Antron Brown and Jack Beckman both earned their seventh win of the season during the NHRA Keystone Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway on Sunday.

Top Fuel

Antron became the first driver to ever win the opening three events of the Countdown to the Championship. The win was his first at the track and he did so by outrunning his Don Schumacher Racing teammate, Tonny Shcumacher who didn’t post a time. Heading into the weekend, Schumacher was the defending winner of the NHRA Keystone Nationals. Antron’s event winning run was 3.717 seconds at 328.46 mph.

“You don’t go into the Countdown believing you’re going to win the first three races,” Brown said. “That’s what you hope to do. Charlotte was tough, but this race was also tough because you go into eliminations without any runs down the racetrack. When we came out today, it was pretty much the first session of qualifying for us. Getting a good, clean run down the track helped us a lot and the track got about eight times better by the second lap.”

Finishing third on Sunday was Larry Dixon, who defeated Shawn Langon in the quarterfinals. Rounding out the top-five was Brittany Force and Richie Crampton.

With the win, Antron now leads Schumacher by 94 points in the Countdown to the Championship. Brittany Force sits third in the standings, trailing by 194 points. Larry Dixon is fourth, 198 points back, and Richie Crampton is fifth, 245 points back from Antron.

Top Fuel Keystone Nationals Results:

1.) Antron Brown

2.) Tony Schumacher

3.) Larry Dixon

4.) Brittany Force

5.) Richie Crampton

6.) Dom Lagana

7.) Shawn Langdon

8.) JR Todd

9.) Leah Pritchett

10.) Dave Connolly

11.) Smax Smith

12.) Clay Millican

13.) Doug Kalitta

14.) Steve Torrence

Top Fuel Countdown to the Championship Standings:

1.) Antron Brown, 2,432

2.) Tony Schumacher, 2,338

3.) Brittany Force, 2,238

4.) Larry Dixon, 2,234

5.) Richie Crampton, 2,187

6.) J.R. Todd, 2,181

7.) Shawn Langdon, 2,177

8.) Doug Kalitta, 2,173

9.) Steve Torrence, 2,160

10.) Dave Connolly, 2,158


Funny Car

Jack Beckman defeated Chad Head in the final after running a 3.910 second run at 326.79 mph. Head actually ran a quicker 3.903 second run at 326.16 mph, but it just wasn’t enough to get he job done. In fact, the matchup ran the quickest Funny Car final in the history of the NHRA.

“This is such a special win because I had to pedal the car the first round, we won on a holeshot in the final round and the guys gave me the quickest car to get the national record,” Beckman said. “We got to touch on all the positive things from the crew side, the crew chief side and the driver’s side and leaving with the Wally is as good as you could ever hope for.”

Ron Capps and John Bojec finished third and fourth respectively. Tommy Johnson Jr. defeated Del Worsham, who won the first two races of the Countdown to the Champion in the first round, but Johnson Jr. would later only make it to the quarterfinals and finish fifth overall.

Despite the poor performance, Worsham continues to lead the Countdown to the Championship point standings. However, the gap has been reduced to only a 16-point advantage over Beckman. Matt Hagan trails Worsham by 90 points. Rounding out the top-five is Tommy Johnson Jr. who is 98 point back and Ron Capps who trails by 105 points.

Funny Car Keystone Nationals Results:

1.) Jack Beckman

2.) Chad Head

3.) Ron Capps

4.) John Bojec

5.) Tommy Johnson Jr.

6.) Cruz Pedregon

7.) Tim Wilkerson

8.) John Hale

9.) Tony Pedregon

10.) Del Worsham

11.) Paul Lee

12.) Matt Hagan

13.) Alexis DeJoria

14.) John Force

15.) Vincent Nobile

16.) Drew Skillman

Funny Car Countdown to the Championship Point Standings:

1.) Del Worsham, 2,361

2.) Jack Beckman, 2,345

3.) Matt Hagan, 2,271

4.) Tommy Johnson Jr., 2,263

5.) Ron Capps, 2,256

6.) John Force, 2,211

7.) Cruz Pedregon, 2,169

8.) Tim Wilkerson, 2,162

9.) Alexis DeJoria, 2,154

10.) Robert Hight, 2,140.

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment