Kyle Busch Secures Furious 7 300 Pole

Kyle Busch Secures Furious 7 300 Pole

by September 19, 2015 0 comments

JOLIET, Ill. — The all-time leader in pole positions in the NASCAR XFINITY Series, Kyle Busch, extended his record with his 46th career series pole and will lead the field to green for tonight’s Furious 7 300 at Chicagoland Speedway.

Turning in a lap of 29.841 seconds, Busch claimed his third pole of the XFINITY season in what is to be his ninth start of the year in the No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota.

Busch led a Joe Gibbs Racing trifecta that also placed Sprint Cup teammate Matt Kenseth on the front row and rookie Daniel Suarez in the third position for the start of the race.

Ty Dillon, Ryan Blaney, Kyle Larson, Paul Menard, Chris Buescher, Regan Smith and Ryan Reed will complete the top-10 of the starting grid.

Championship contenders Brian Scott, Chase Elliott and Elliott Sadler each had surprising efforts in qualifying that led to each driver being left out of Q3. The three drivers respectively qualified 13th, 17th and 19th.

Other drivers to be eliminated from pole contention were Kasey Kahne, John Wes Townley, Dakoda Armstrong, Cale Conley and Landon Cassill.

Drivers such as Ross Chastain, Ryan Sieg, Michael Self, Mason Mingus, Joey Gase and Eric McClure were among the competitors to be eliminated following Q1.

With 41 drivers entered for the race weekend, Morgan Shepherd was the lone driver to fail to qualify for this evening’s race.

The 200-lap Furious 7 300 will start at 5:00 p.m ET and will be broadcast live on NBCSN and MRN.

Starting Grid for the Furious 7 300

  1. Kyle Busch(i)
  2. Matt Kenseth(i)
  3. Daniel Suarez#
  4. Ty Dillon
  5. Ryan Blaney
  6. Kyle Larson(i)
  7. Paul Menard(i)
  8. Chris Buescher
  9. Regan Smith
  10. Ryan Reed
  11. Brendan Gaughan
  12. Darrell Wallace Jr.#
  13. Brian Scott
  14. Kasey Kahne(i)
  15. Jeremy Clements
  16. John Wes Townley(i)
  17. Chase Elliott
  18. Dakoda Armstrong
  19. Elliott Sadler
  20. Cale Conley#
  21. Landon Cassill
  22. J.J. Yeley
  23. Blake Koch
  24. Benny Gordon
  25. Ross Chastain#
  26. Ryan Sieg
  27. Michael Self
  28. Dexter Bean
  29. Jeff Green
  30. David Starr
  31. Jimmy Weller
  32. Mason Mingus(i)
  33. Joey Gase
  34. Eric McClure
  35. Derrike Cope
  36. T.J. Bell(i)
  37. Martin Roy
  38. Mike Harmon
  39. Josh Reaume#
  40. Derek White

# = Rookie, (i) = Ineligible for NASCAR XFINITY Series points.

Photo Credit: Brian Lawdermilk/NASCAR via Getty Images

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment