Antron Brown, Del Worsham Continue Countdown Dominance In AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals

Antron Brown, Del Worsham Continue Countdown Dominance In AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals

by September 28, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: NHRA Communications

MADISON, Ill. – For the second weekend in a row, Antron Brown captured the victory in Top Fuel, and Del Worsham won in Funny Car during the AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals on Sunday afternoon at Gateway Motorsports Park.

Top Fuel

Antron Brown took over the point lead for the Countdown to the Championship in Charlotte at zMAX Dragway, and on Sunday, he extended that lead by winning his fourth consecutive Top Fuel event at Gateway Motorsports Park. In the final round, he defeated Dave Connolly with a run of 3.721 seconds at 325.92 mph. Conolly had a performance of 3.753 seconds at 328.94 mph. Antron now has six final event victories this season.

“We’re just off to an incredible start,” Antron said. “It’s just crazy how tough it is out here right now, and it just feels good to sneak out of here with another win.

“You have to push it to the next level every round. I got my butt kicked by (Gateway runner-up Dave) Connolly in the U.S. Nationals in Indianapolis and that woke me up. After that, I’ve just been going to work, putting my head down and my boys have been pushing me. We’ve been doing it round by round and we’re just going to see how long we can ride this roller coaster.”

Finishing third on Sunday was Billy Torrence, who defeated defending NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Top Fuel champion, Tony Schumacher in the quarterfinals. Torrence lost to Antron Brown in the semifinals. Brittany Force finished fourth, and Steve Torrence rounded out the top-five.

With only four events remaining this season, Antron leads Tony Shumacher by 77 points in the Countdown to the Championship point standings. Larry Dixon is third, 159 points back, and Brittany Force is in fourth, trailing by 163 points. JR Todd rounds out the top-five in the championship standings, 171 points back from Antron Brown.

AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals Top Fuel Results:

1.) Antron Brown

2.) Dave Connolly

3.) Billy Torrence

4.) Brittany Force

5.) Steve Torrence

6.) Shawn Langdon

7.) Doug Kalitta

8.) Tony Shumacher

9.) Larry Dixon

10.) Clay Millican

11.) Wayne Newby

12.) Terry McMillen

13.) Kyle Wurtzel

14.) JR Todd

15.) Richie Crampton

16.) Troy Buff


Funny Car

Del Worsham earned his second victory in a row on Sunday at Gateway Motorsports Park as he also extended his point lead. However, this weekend, Worsham’s engine exploded as he crossed the finish line to defeat Matt Hagan in the finals. Worsham’s winning run was 3.721 seconds at 325.92 mph. Matt Hagan’s losing run was 3.753 seconds at 324.20 mph.

“It made a hard dart to the right, I had full input on the wheel to the left, and it went ‘ka-boom!’ right before I got to the finish line,” said Worsham. “It blew up, the dash came up, and fire went back there. Luckily, in today’s racing, the chutes deployed themselves and slowed it down right away. In my 25 years of racing, I don’t know if I’ve ever driven a Funny Car that made that many good runs. The team assembling it, the tune-up, and what [team owner] Connie Kalitta has given us here has been unreal. When I came back to Funny Car racing [in 2012], this is the dream I had.”

Cruz Pedregon finished third after defeating Jack Beckman in the quarterfinals. Ron Capps finished fourth, and Tim Wilkerson finished fifth.

Del Worsham now has an impressive 90 point lead over Matt Hagan in the Countdown to the Championship point standings. Tommy Johnson trails by 116 points, followed by Jack Beckman who trails by 119 points. Rounding out the top-five is 16-time Funny Car champion, John Force who is 149 points back.

AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals Funny Car Results:

1.) Del Worsham

2.) Matt Hagan

3.) Cruz Pedregon

4.) Ron Capps

5.) Tim Wilkerson

6.) John Force

7.) Alexis DeJoria

8.) Jack Beckman

9.) Brian Stewart

10.) John Hale

11.) Tommy Johnson

12.) Tony Pedregon

13.) Courtney Force

14.) John Bojec

15.) Robert Hight

16.) Chad Head

Up next on the schedule for the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series are the Keystone Nationals at Maple Grove Raceway in Reading, Pennsylvania, October 1-4.

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment