Ken Block Wins Inaugural Race At Marine Corps Air Station New River For Fifth Career Victory

Ken Block Wins Inaugural Race At Marine Corps Air Station New River For Fifth Career Victory

by July 7, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Wayne Thomas

JACKSONVILLE, N.C. – Ken Block captured his second win of the 2015 Red Bull Global Rallycross season on Sunday during the inaugural event at Marine Corps Air Station New River.

The seven-turn, .993-mile layout is the longest in series history, and the event marked the first time Red Bull Global Rallycross has ever competed on an active military base. The free admission event attracted an incredible crowd as fans from around North Carolina came out to see the stars of the series in action.

“This was the most incredible experience I have ever had in my life racing here at Marine Corps Air Station New River,” said Chip Ganassi Racing driver, Steve Arpin. “Racing in front of all these men and women that essentially give us the opportunity to do this. They’re the ones who give us the opportunity to do this, and especially on the Fourth of July weekend, and to see the excitement, to see the attendance here today, it was honestly one of the most humbling experiences of my life.”

Patrik Sandell quickly shot to the lead in the main event with Joni Wiman and Steve Arpin right on his back bumper. It didn’t take long for Ken Block to move his way deep into the top-five, but his efforts came to a halt when Brian Deegan crashed hard on the frontstretch after clipping a tire barrier. The crash brought a stop to the event, due to a lengthy clean up.

“I had a bad start in the main, and I was coming from behind,” Deegan said. “I was just trying to do a high-low, and the next thing I know, I clipped the tire barrier really, really fast, and it spun me around, and I went into the wall. It was just a high speed crash, and I ended up messing the car up. It’s a bummer. It’s not something I usually do, but it happens when you’re going for it.”

On the restart that featured a four-lap shootout, Ken Block quickly jumped to the lead, while Joni Wiman and Patrick Sandell battled for the second position. In the end, Block was able to hold on to claim his fifth career Supercar victory. Block also won the season opener in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida back in May.

“I’m very lucky to have two out of four wins,” Block said. “Today just was crazy up and down luck. I am fairly lucky to be sitting here on top. Thanks to everyone for coming out—it was great seeing everyone come out and get autographs, seeing everyone come out last night, and it’s great interacting with the military.”

Patrick Sandell finished second, followed by Nelson Piquet Jr., Austin Dyne and Steve Arpin rounding out the top-five.

“I had a great weekend,” Sandell said. “We’ve been fast all weekend, winning heats and leading the first half of the final. Unfortunately there was a red flag, but that’s part of the game, and we got back strong. We were fighting for podium positions. I knew halfway through the final it would be tough to catch Ken, but I was able to get second in the end and I’m super happy for that. Bryan Herta does an amazing job with this team.”

As for the GRC Lites, Dreyer & Reinbold Racing’s Alex Keyes took the checkered flag. Rounding out the top-five included Oliver Eriksson, Tanner Whitten, Miles Maroney and Austin Cindric.

Up next on the schedule for the Red Bull Global Rallycross is a doubleheader in Detroit, Michigan on Saturday and Sunday, July 25-26. Coverage will begin on NBC at 2 p.m. ET on Saturday and 4:30 p.m. ET on Sunday, also on NBC.

MCAS New River Results:

1.) #43 Ken Block | Hoonigan Racing Division

2.) #18 Patrik Sandell | Bryan Herta Rallysport

3.) #07 Nelson Piquet Jr. | SH Racing Rallycross

4.) #14 Austin Dyne | Bryan Herta Rallysport

5.) #00 Steve Arpin | Chip Ganassi Racing

6.) #11 Sverre Isachsen | Subaru Rally Team USA

7.) #81 Bucky Lasek | Subaru Rally Team USA

8.) #31 Joni Wiman | Olsbergs MSE

9.) #93 Sebastian Eriksson | Olsberg MSE

10.) #38 Brian Deegan | Chip Ganassi Racing

11.) #41 Scott Speed | Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross

12.) #34 Tanner Foust | Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross


Red Bull Global Rallycross Point Standings:

1.) Ken Block 181

2.) Sebastian Eriksson 150

3.) Nelson Piquet Jr. 148

4.) Austin Dyne 140

5.) Steve Arpin 136

6.) Tanner Foust 122

7.) Joni Wiman, 115

8.) Patrik Sandell 85

9.) Scott Speed 81

10.) Sverre Isachsen 56

11.) Bucky Lasek 33

12.) Victor Gonzalez 17

13.) Brian Deegan 7

14.) Jeff Ward; ineligible for points


Manufacturer Point Standings:

1.) Ford 19

2.) Volkswagen 16

3.) Subaru 13

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment