Ken Block, Patrik Sandell Claim Victory In Detroit

Ken Block, Patrik Sandell Claim Victory In Detroit

by July 30, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Larry Chen / Red Bull Content Pool

DETROIT, Mich. – On Saturday and Sunday, Red Bull Global Rallycross visited Detroit for the first time, and the series saw Hoonigan Racing Division’s Ken Block and Herta Rallysport’s Patrik Sandell capture victories at the .757-mile course.


Ken Block’s win during Round 5 on Saturday marked the sixth of his career, most of any driver who has ever competed in the series. The win was huge for Block because the race was a home event for manufacturer, Ford. With Saturday’s win and a seventh place finish on Sunday, Block now leads the championship driver points by 26 over Sebastian Eriksson.

“I’m stoked about winning today’s race in Detroit,” Block said. “This is a home event for one of my top sponsors, Ford, so it’s awesome to be able to win here in front of all of the Ford employees that came out to watch. I came into this event with a lead in the points and my only goal was to maintain and build upon that. Fortunately for myself, I built upon that in the best way possible with a 1st place finish!”

Rounding out the top-five on Saturday was Scott Speed, Sebastian Eriksson, Brian Deegan and defending series champion, Joni Wiman.

Detroit (I) Results:

1.) #43 Ken Block | Hoonigan Racing Division

2.) #41 Scott Speed | Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross

3.) #93 Sebastian Eriksson | Olsbergs MSE

4.) #38 Brian Deegan | Chip Ganassi Racing

5.) #31 Joni Wiman | Olsbergs MSE

6.) #14 Austin Dyne | Bryan Herta Rallysport

7.) #00 Steve Arpin | Chip Ganassi Racing

8.) #07 Nelson Piquet Jr. | SH Racing Rallycross

9.) #18 Patrik Sandell | Bryan Herta Rallysport

10.) #34 Tanner Foust | Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross



As for Sunday’s Round 6 winner, Patrik Sandell, his victory marked the first for Bryan Herta Rallysport. The win was also only the second career victory for Sandell. The last time he won a race was in Washington, D.C., back in June of last year. Sandell has struggled throughout the 2015 season as he’s currently mired back in the eighth position in the championship point standings, but the win this past weekend in Detroit was certainly a step in the right direction for the new team.

“We have a fantastic car—my team has put together the perfect package for me, and we’ve been able to be fast for a while now, but we hadn’t been able to get all the way to the finish,” Sandell said. “Yesterday (Saturday) we had a small problem with the car and had to retire in the final, but today (Sunday) Bryan Herta, his guys, and Kobalt Tools just put everything together for me. I’m so happy for them—this victory goes to them.”

Once again, Scott Speed and Sebastian Eriksson finished second and third respectively. Joni Wiman and Brian Deegan swapped position on Sunday to finish fourth and fifth.

“Obviously after three DNFs in a row, the championship is far away, but we have to do what we can do round by round to finish on the podium and collect points,” Speed said. “I’m super pumped that Patrik won—honestly, he’s deserved one of these so far this year. I’m happy for those guys, and happy for our Volkswagen Andretti Beetle! We’ve clearly got the pace and we’ll be a force for sure.”

Up next on the schedule for the Red Bull Global Rallycross is Round 7 in Washington, D.C. on Saturday, August 15. The event will air live on NBC at 3 p.m. ET.

Detroit (II) Results:

1.) #18 Patrik Sandell | Bryan Herta Rallysport

2.) #41 Scott Speed | Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross

3.) #93 Sebastian Eriksson | Olsbergs MSE

4.) #31 Joni Wiman | Olsbergs MSE

5.) #38 Brian Deegan | Chip Ganassi Racing

6.) #14 Austin Dyne | Bryan Herta Rallysport

7.) #43 Ken Block | Hoonigan Racing Division

8.) #81 Bucky Lasek | Subaru Rally Team USA

9.) #07 Nelson Piquet Jr.

10.) #34 Tanner Foust | Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross


Driver Points:

1.) Ken Block, 260

2.) Sebastian Eriksson, 234

3.) Austin Dyne, 195

4.) Joni Wiman, 185

5.) Scott Speed, 180

6.) Nelson Piquet Jr., 178

7.) Steve Arpin, 161

8.) Patrik Sandell, 157

9.) Tanner Foust, 139

10.) Brian Deegan, 76

11.) Sverre Isachsen, 61

12.) Bucky Lasek, 51

13.) Victor Gonzalez Jr., 17

14.) Jeff Ward, ineligible for points


Manufacturer Points:

1.) Ford, 29

2.) Volkswagen, 24

3.) Subaru, 19

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment