By the Numbers: Brickyard 400

By the Numbers: Brickyard 400

by July 26, 2015 0 comments

SPEEDWAY, Ind. — Today, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series makes its lone visit of the year to what is perhaps the most legendary racing circuit in the world – Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

43 drivers are set to compete in the 22nd running of the Brickyard 400 (titled the Crown Royal presents the Jeff Kyle 400 this year) and will seek to etch their name into history by winning at Indy.

Here is a look at various statistics and numbers entering today’s race with this week’s edition of ‘By the Numbers.’

0 – Number of Brickyard 400 victories Toyota has as a manufacturer.

5 – Number of Brickyard 400 wins Jeff Gordon has, making the driver of the No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet the all-time winningest driver at the track.

6.4 – Average number of cautions in the last 10 Brickyard 400s.

7 – Former Brickyard 400 winners in the field on Sunday – Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Tony Stewart, Paul Menard, Ryan Newman, Kevin Harvick and Jamie McMurray.

8.4 – Average finish at Indianapolis Motor Speedway by Jeff Gordon, the lowest of all active drivers with more than four starts at the track.

8.6 – Average starting position of the last 10 Brickyard 400 winners.

12 – Number of consecutive years dating back to 2003 that Chevrolet has won the Brickyard 400.

17 – Average number of lead changes in the last 10 Brickyard 400s.

18.9% – Laps that Jimmie Johnson has spent in the lead at Indianapolis Motor Speedway over the last 10 Brickyard 400s.

21 – Number of Brickyard 400s Jeff Gordon and Bobby Labonte have competed in, making them the only two drivers to have competed in every Brickyard 400 up to today.

24th – Furthest back a driver has come from on the starting grid to win the Brickyard 400 – Dale Jarrett, 1996.

108.1 – Jimmie Johnson’s driver rating at Indianapolis Motor Speedway over the last 10 years – the highest of all active drivers.

138 – Average lap of the final caution in the last 10 Brickyard 400s.

1994 – Year of the first Brickyard 400. The inaugural race was won by Jeff Gordon.


PHOTO CREDIT: Rainier Ehrhardt/NASCAR via Getty Images

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment