Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer And Danica Patrick To Race In Sprint All-Star Race At Charlotte Motor Speedway

Greg Biffle, Clint Bowyer And Danica Patrick To Race In Sprint All-Star Race At Charlotte Motor Speedway

by May 15, 2015 0 comments

CHARLOTTE, N.C. – The field is set for the 2015 edition of the Sprint All-Star Race at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Greg Biffle started second and led the first 20 laps of the Sprint Showdown on Friday night, earning a spot in the Sprint All-Star Race. He will be the only Roush-Fenway Racing driver competing in the event, and Biffle will be making his 12th appearance.

“To come here and qualify second and run the laps we ran and feel like we’ve got a little bit of speed in our car and we know tomorrow night is gonna be a huge challenge for us because there are gonna be a lot faster cars that we have to deal with all the same speed basically,” Biffle said. “The top 20 are really fast cars, but tonight is certainly a confidence-builder. It’s gonna be tough for Clint and I to qualify tomorrow night. We didn’t make any runs at pit road, so we have no clue of what we’re doing.”

Once the field went back to green after the competition caution on Lap 20, JJ Yeley spun exiting Turn 4, bringing out the second and final caution on Lap 23.

Clint Bowyer led the final 17 laps to win the second segment and race his way into the Sprint All-Star. Bowyer won last year’s Sprint Showdown. He will be making his seventh appearance in the Sprint All-Star Race tomorrow night.

“He (Brian Pattie, crew chief) said to take four tires and I said, ‘Yeah, okay,’” Bowyer said. “Then everybody took two and I was like, ‘Oh no.’ We had a pretty good car – our 5-hour ENERGY Toyota was good especially on the long run. That gives me a little bit of confidence going into the 600. I think we’ll be a little bit better. I appreciate all the guys’ efforts and all their hard work. The way we’re running is not due to a lack of effort. It’s such a tough thing when you’re struggling and you’re trying to figure everything out – you’re running bad and you’re confidence gets beat up and you just can’t seem to figure it out. Just like anything in life, you keep digging and you keep working hard at it and eventually you’ll figure it out and we’ll have the success we’ve worked so hard for.”

As for the Sprint Fan Vote, Stewart-Haas Racing’s Danica Patrick claimed victory thanks to her dedicated fans. Her win over Martin Truex Jr. was the closest margin of victory in the history of the Sprint Fan Vote. On Friday night, she also became the first repeat winner of the Sprint Fan Vote. Patrick won back in 2013, as well.

“I have great fans,” Patrick said. “I know I didn’t make it in last year, but I heard that they voted even more last year than the year before that and so I’m sure that this year was nothing different. I think I got close at the end and they came through. They always come through. I am lucky to have such great fans.”

NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race Qualifying will be live on FOX Sports 1 at 7:10 p.m. ET, followed by the NASCAR Sprint All-Star Race at 9 p.m. ET.

Photo Credit: Hunter Thomas

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment