Erik Jones On Pole For O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 At Texas Motor Speedway

Erik Jones On Pole For O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 At Texas Motor Speedway

by April 10, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Sean Gardner/NASCAR via Getty Images

By: Hunter Thomas
Twitter: @HunterThomas08

FORT WORTH, Tex. – Erik Jones will sit on the pole for the O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 at Texas Motor Speedway on Friday night after winning the 21 Means 21 Pole Award.

Friday’s pole run was Jones’ second in a row. He sat on the pole at Auto Club Speedway back in March, as well. This weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, Jones captured the pole with a 29.163 second lap at 185.166 mph, and he was fastest in all three rounds. Jones has five top-10 starts so far this season.

Team Penske’s Brad Keselowski will start alongside of Jones in the second position after posting his second top-10 start of the 2015 season. Keselowski has eight top-10 starts in only 15 NASCAR XFINITY Series events at Texas Motor Speedway.

Austin Dillon will start third after earning his fifth top-five out of the five races so far this year. Daniel Suarez who’s running for Rookie of the Year clocked an impressive lap to place him on the outside of row two in the fourth position. Dale Earnhardt Jr. rounded out the top-five.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 will air live on FOX Sports 1 and the Performance Racing Network (PRN) tonight at 8:30 p.m. ET.

O’Reilly Auto Parts 300 Starting Lineup:
1.) #20 Erik Jones
2.) #22 Brad Keselowski
3.) #33 Austin Dillon
4.) #18 Daniel Suarez
5.) #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
6.) #7 Regan Smith
7.) #2 Brian Scott
8.) #6 Darrell Wallace Jr.
9.) #9 Chase Elliott
10.) #60 Chris Buescher
11.) #54 Denny Hamlin
12.) #62 Brendan Gaughan
13.) #1 Elliott Sadler
14.) #16 Ryan Reed
15.) #25 John Wes Townley
16.) #3 Ty Dillon
17.) #98 Sam Honrish Jr.
18.) #43 Dakoda Armstrong
19.) #39 Ryan Sieg
20.) #28 JJ Yeley
21.) #4 Ross Chastain
22.) #42 Brennan Poole
23.) #19 Mike Bliss
24.) #8 Blake Koch
25.) #51 Jeremy Clements
26.) #0 Harrison Rhodes
27.) #24 Eric McClure
28.) #14 Cale Conley
29.) #55 Brandon Gdovic
30.) #01 Landon Cassill
31.) #44 David Starr
32.) #13 Timmy Hill
33.) #15 Stanton Barrett
34.) #90 Mario Gosselin
35.) #10 Jeff Green
36.) #70 Derrike Cope
37.) #52 Joey Gase
38.) #97 Peyton Sellers
39.) #40 Derek White
40.) #74 Mike Harmon

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment