Erik Jones Captures Third Consecutive Coors Light Pole Qualifying Award In NASCAR XFINITY Series

Erik Jones Captures Third Consecutive Coors Light Pole Qualifying Award In NASCAR XFINITY Series

by April 18, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Wayne Thomas

BRISTOL, Tenn. – At only 18 years old, Erik Jones in the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 GameStop Toyota became the youngest driver in history to sit on the Coors Light Qualifying Pole at Bristol Motor Speedway in the NASCAR XFINITY Series after he ran a lap of 15.331 seconds at 125.158 on Saturday morning.

Jones has now won three consecutive poles in the series, and on Saturday afternoon in the Drive to Stop Diabetes 300, he’ll try to win his second race in a row. Along with the three poles, he also six top-10 starts in 2015, as well.

Team Penseke’s Joey Logano will start second. He has three top-10 starts so far this season and seven at the speedway. Logano clocked the fastest lap in Round 1 of qualifying and was sixth in Round 2.

Austin Dillon who paced final practice on Friday will start third on Saturday afternoon. Dillon has six top-10 starts in six events this season. Saturday’s qualifying effort marks his fifth top-10 start at the speedway. Dillon was fourth quickest in Round 1 and third in Round 2.

Brian Scott qualified fourth, and Denny Hamlin who was fastest during opening practice qualified fifth. Kevin Harvck, Darrell Wallace Jr., Brendan Gaughan, Daniel Suarez and Regan Smith round out the top-10.

Coverage for the Drive to Stop Diabetes 300 will begin at 1:30 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1 and the Performance Racing Network (PRN).

Drive To Stop Diabetes 300 Starting Lineup:
1.) #20 Erik Jones
2.) #22 Joey Logano
3.) #33 Austin Dillon
4.) #2 Brian Scott
5.) #54 Denny Hamlin
6.) #88 Kevin Harvick
7.) #6 Darrell Wallace Jr.
8.) #62 Brendan Gaughan
9.) #18 Daniel Suarez
10.) #7 Regan Smith
11.) #25 John Wes Townley
12.) #1 Elliott Sadler
13.) #9 Chase Elliott
14.) #60 Chris Buescher
15.) #28 JJ Yeley
16.) #3 Ty Dillon
17.) #42 Brennan Poole
18.) #4 Ross Chastain
19.) #01 Landon Cassill
20.) #55 Jeffrey Earnhardt
21.) #51 Jeremy Clements
22.) #43 Dakoda Armstrong
23.) #39 Ryan Sieg
24.) #16 Ryan Reed
25.) #19 Mike Bliss
26.) #24 Eric McClure
27.) #52 Joey Gase
28.) #90 Todd Bodine
29.) #44 David Starr
30.) #89 Morgan Shepherd
31.) #0 Harrison Rhodes
32.) #8 Blake Koch
33.) #14 Cale Conley
34.) #10 Jeff Green
35.) #97 Peyton Sellers
36.) #70 Derrike Cope
37.) #13 Timmy Hill
38.) #15 Carlos Contreras
39.) #74 Mike Harmon
40.) #40 Derek White

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment