Denny Hamlin On Pole For Friday Night’s ToyotaCare 250

Denny Hamlin On Pole For Friday Night’s ToyotaCare 250

by April 24, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Kevin C. Cox/Getty Images

RICHMOND, Va. – Denny Hamlin will bring the field down to the green flag for the ToyotaCare 250 at Richmond International Raceway on Friday night after winning Coors Light Pole Qualifying.

Hamlin captured the pole after running a lap of 21.762 seconds at 124.069 mph. Friday’s pole marks his third at the raceway, but it’s his 17th career pole in the NASCAR XFINITY Series. Hamlin has one pole and three top-10 starts so far this season. Hamlin was fastest during the one and only NASCAR XFINITY Series practice session this weekend, as well.

Joey Logano will start second on Friday night. He posted his seventh top-10 start of the season and his fourth at Richmond International Raceway. Logano finished out practice in the second position.

Erik Jones who has won the last three Coors Light Pole Awards came up a little short this weekend and will start third. He has seven top-10 starts this season. Friday’s effort marks his first top-10 start at the raceway. Jones was fifth fastest in practice.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regular, Aric Almirola and Brian Scott round out the top-five. Dale Earnhardt Jr. will start sixth, followed by his teammates, Chase Elliott and Regan Smith. Daniel Suarez was the highest qualifying rookie in ninth. Brennan Poole qualified 10th.

The ToyotaCare 250 will be broadcast live on FOX Spots 1 and the Motor Racing Network (MRN) at 7:30 p.m. ET on Friday night.

ToyotaCare 250 Starting Lineup:

1.) #20 Denny Hamlin

2.) #22 Joey Logano

3.) #54 Erik Jones

4.) #98 Aric Almirola

5.) #2 Brian Scott

6.) #88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.

7.) #9 Chase Elliott

8.) #7 Regan Smith

9.) #18 Daniel Suarez

10.) #42 Brennan Poole

11.) #6 Darrell Wallace Jr.

12.) #60 Chris Buescher

13.) #33 Austin Dillon

14.) #16 Ryan Reed

15.) #3 Ty Dillon

16.) #62 Brendan Gaughan

17.) #1 Elliott Sadler

18.) #43 Dakoda Armstrong

19.) #9 Ryan Sieg

20.) #19 Mike Bliss

21.) #01 Landon Cassill

22.) #25 Dylan Lupton

23.) #0 Harrison Rhodes

24.) #10 Jeff Green

25.) #8 Blake Koch

26.) #51 Jeremy Clements

27.) #13 Timmy Hill

28.) #4 Ross Chastain

29.) #55 Bandon Gdovic

30.) #14 Cale Conley

31.) #40 Carl Long

32.) #28 JJ Yeley

33.) #44 David Starr

34.) #90 Jimmy Weller

35.) #24 Eric McClure

36.) #52 Joey Gase

37.) #97 Peyton Sellers

38.) #15 Carlos Contreras

39.) #70 Derrike Cope

40.) #74 Mike Harmon

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment