Ryan Newman Rockets Around Martinsville Speedway To Top First Practice

Ryan Newman Rockets Around Martinsville Speedway To Top First Practice

by March 27, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Christian Petersen/Getty Images

By: Hunter Thomas
Twitter: @HunterThomas08

RIDGEWAY, Va. – After a lengthy rain delay on Friday afternoon at Martinsville Speedway, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series teams hit track for first the practice session of the STP 500 weekend.

Richard Childress Racing’s Ryan Newman set the fastest lap in opening practice with a chart topping lap of 19.335 seconds at 97.835 mph. AJ Allmendinger clocked an impressive lap of 19.386 seconds at 97.679 mph and ended the session second. Four-time NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion, Jeff Gordon was third, followed by his Hendrick Motorsports teammate, Jimmie Johnson and Martin Truex Jr.

Chase Elliott, making his NASCAR Sprint Cup Series debut had the best 10 consecutive lap average with an average speed of 94.231 mph. He was 29th overall on the speed chart. Alex Bowman had the second fastest average speed over the course of 10 consecutive laps, followed by Michael Annett.

Coors Light Pole Qualifying is set to begin at 6:10 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 1. On Saturday, second practice for the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will be at 10 a.m. on FOX Sports 1, followed by final practice at 1 p.m. ET on FOX Sports 2. The STP 500 will be live on FOX Sports 1 and the Motor Racing Network (MRN) on Sunday at 1 p.m. ET.

STP 500 First Practice Top-10 Results:
1.) #31 Ryan Newman | Quicken Loans | Chevrolet| 19.355 seconds | 97.835 mph
2.) #47 AJ Allmendinger | Bush’s Beans | Chevrolet | 19.386 seconds | 97.679 mph
3.) #24 Jeff Gordon | Axalta | Chevrolet | 19.389 seconds | 97.664 mph
4.) #48 Jimmie Johnson | Lowe’s | Chevrolet | 19.398 seconds 97.618 mph
5.) #78 Martin Truex Jr. | Furniture Row/Visser Precision | Chevrolet | 19.410 seconds | 97.558 mph
6.) #22 Joey Logano | Shell Pennzoil | Ford | 19.439 seconds | 97.412 mph
7.) #1 Jamie McMurray | Cessna | Chevrolet | 19.439 seconds | 97.412 mph
8.) #2 Brad Keselowski | Miller Lite | Ford | 19.442 seconds | 97.397 mph
9.) #11 Denny Hamlin | FedEx Express | Toyota | 19.479 seconds | 97.212 mph
10.) #42 Kyle Larson | Target | Chevrolet | 19.483 seconds | 97.192 mph

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment