NASCAR Announces 2015 Sprint Unlimited Format

NASCAR Announces 2015 Sprint Unlimited Format

by February 5, 2015 0 comments

Photo Credit: Sean Gardner/NASCAR via Getty Images

By: Hunter Thomas
Twitter: @HunterThomas08

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. – On Thursday, NASCAR unveiled the unique format for the 2015 edition of the Sprint Unlimited, a non-points event set to be held at Daytona International Speedway on Saturday, February 14.

This year, fans will be paired with each crew chief to assist with the random drawing prior to the event to determine the starting position and pit road selection. The concept is just another initiative NASCAR is implementing in order to get fans closer to the action and more involved in the sport.

“Anticipation for the start of the NASCAR season is at an all-time high among fans and drivers,” NASCAR Executive Vice President and Chief Racing Development Officer Steve O’Donnell said. “Fans have a unique opportunity to participate in key elements of the event, making this year’s Sprint Unlimited even more exciting.”

A competition caution will come out on lap 25 to split the 75-lap event into two segments. A total of 25 drivers will take the green flag to kick off the 2015 Speedweeks in Daytona.

Coverage for the Sprint Unlimited will be live on FOX, Motor Racing Network (MRN) and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio at 8:00 p.m. ET on Saturday, February 14.

Drivers eligible to compete in the 2015 Sprint Unlimited, include the following:
#1 Jamie McMurray
#2 Brad Keselowski
#3 Austin Dillon
#4 Kevin Harvick
#5 Kasey Kahne
#10 Danica Patrick
#11 Denny Hamlin
#14 Tony Stewart
#16 Greg Biffle
#18 Kyle Busch
#19 Carl Edwards
#20 Matt Kenseth
#22 Joey Logano
#24 Jeff Gordon
#31 Ryan Newman
#38 David Gilliland
#41 Kurt Busch
#42 Kyle Larson
#43 Aric Almirola
#47 AJ Allmendinger
#48 Jimmie Johnson
#55 Brian Vickers (Debut start scheduled to be at Las Vegas Motor Speedway in March, 2015.)
#78 Martin Truex Jr.
#88 Dale Earnhardt Jr.
Brian Scott

If any of the drivers above were unable to compete, the following drivers respectively would be in position for a provisional based on 2014 championship points:
#15 Clint Bowyer
#27 Paul Menard
Marcos Ambrose (He has moved back to Australia to compete in V8 Supercars.)
#13 Casey Mears
#17 Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment