2015 NCWTS Preview: Kyle Busch Motorsports

2015 NCWTS Preview: Kyle Busch Motorsports

by January 26, 2015 0 comments

Photo credit: Rainier Ehrhardt/NASCAR via Getty Images

Kyle Busch Motorsports, last year’s owners championship-winning team in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, are looking like a triple threat team this season.

Not only does the three-truck team enter the 2015 season as a contender yet again for the owners championship, they also enter this year as strong contenders for both the drivers championship and for rookie of the year honors.

Erik Jones and series newcomer Justin Boston will both compete full-time in the series for the drivers title this season with Boston also being eligible to compete for rookie of the year honors.

Boston will move into the No. 54 truck that was raced by Darrell Wallace Jr. in 2013 and 2014 while Jones will move into a brand new No. 4 Toyota Tundra for the three-time owners championship-winning organization.

Boston, 25, moves up to the Camping World Truck Series full-time after completing the last two seasons with Joe Gibbs Racing development partner, Venturini Motorsports, in the ARCA Racing Series.

Along with his two career ARCA victories (both coming in 2014), Boston was impressive in his two starts with JGR this past season in the XFINITY Series, coming home with respective ninth-place and 12th-place results at Kentucky and Dover.

Jones, 18, has yet to complete a full season in the Camping World Truck Series and is already being viewed as a (if not, the) favorite for this year’s championship.

Already a four-time winner in the series in 17 career starts, Matt Crafton’s greatest threat against his chances for a three-peat perhaps comes in the form of Jones, who averaged one win in every four races during the 2014 campaign.

As for the 2013 and 2014 owners championship-winning truck, the No. 51, the driving duties will be split up amongst team owner Kyle Busch, Matt Tifft, and XFINITY Series rookie Daniel Suárez.

Busch will scale back his driving duties in the No. 51 truck this year as he will drive the truck in only a handful of races while Tifft will compete in six races with Suárez handling a bulk of the 23-race schedule.

Busch, a winner of 42 races in the series, was statistically the strongest driver to drive the No. 51 truck last year by far with his schedule of 10 races for the team.

With a smaller commitment to the No. 51 team from behind the wheel, there may be some concerns that the team may not perform as well overall as they did last season, particularly with two drivers with a lack of experience on the national series; but, Tifft and Suárez are two talented signings who should find plenty of success during their respective tenures in the truck this year.

The equipment that they’ll be racing in will definitely be of help as KBM trucks went to victory lane in 14 of 22 races last year. With no indication that the team has lost a step in the engineering department, expect similar success to be found in 2015.

Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment