Joey Logano Wins Coors Light Pole Award for O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge

Joey Logano Wins Coors Light Pole Award for O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge

by November 1, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

FORT WORTH, Texas. — Joey Logano won the Coors Light Pole Award for today’s O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge with a lap of 28.880 seconds set in the final round of qualifying at Texas Motor Speedway.

Logano scored his 26th career pole position in the Nationwide Series and his third of the season in the No. 22 Discount Tire Ford for Team Penske.

Following Logano to the green flag in today’s 200-lap race in the top-10 will be Trevor Bayne, Austin Dillon, Brian Scott, Ryan Blaney, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Ty Dillon, Regan Smith, and Ryan Reed.

Logano was able to prove his strength in his No. 22 Ford early as he would turn the fastest lap in the 25-minute opening round for qualifying with a circuit of 29.060 seconds.

Eliminated from pole contention after Q1 would be Eric McClure, David Starr, James Buescher, and Landon Cassill, among others. Kyle Larson would also be eliminated from qualifying due to his No. 42 Phillips Norelco Chevrolet failing to pass inspection in a timely manner.

With 43 drivers entered for this race weekend, three were sent home from Texas after failing to qualify – Morgan Shepherd, Mike Harmon, and Derrike Cope.

Logano would once again show off his pace in Q2 by running the quickest lap of the 10-minute round with a lap of 29.017 seconds.

Eliminated drivers from qualifying after Q2 included Matt Kenseth, Dylan Kwasniewski, Chris Buescher, Corey Lajoie, and Clint Bowyer – who subbed for a sick Elliott Sadler in the No. 11 OneMain Financial Toyota for Joe Gibbs Racing.

The pole-sitter at Texas in the Nationwide Series has gone on to win only twice in 27 races – once with Kyle Busch in 2009 and once with Carl Edwards in 2011.

The top-10 has been the place to be for the eventual winner at Texas with each of the last 12 races being won from a top-10 starting position.

The O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge is set to commence at 2:30 p.m CT (3:30 p.m ET.) ESPN will carry live television coverage of the race while the Performance Racing Network (PRN) and SiriusXM Satellite NASCAR Channel 90 will carry live radio coverage of the race.

Top-10 Qualifiers for the O’Reilly Auto Parts Challenge

  1. 22 – Joey Logano(i) – Ford – Team Penske – 28.880 | Leader
  2. 6 – Trevor Bayne – Ford – Roush-Fenway Racing – 28.967 | -0.087
  3. 33 – Austin Dillon(i) – Chevrolet – Richard Childress Racing – 29.011 | -0.131
  4. 2 – Brian Scott – Chevrolet – Richard Childress Racing – 29.018 | -0.138
  5. 12 – Ryan Blaney(i) – Ford – Team Penske – 29.029 | -0.149
  6. 54 – Kyle Busch(i) – Toyota – Joe Gibbs Racing – 29.032 | -0.152
  7. 5 – Kevin Harvick(i) – Chevrolet – JR Motorsports – 29.092 | -0.212
  8. 3 – Ty Dillon# – Chevrolet – Richard Childress Racing – 29.152 | -0.272
  9. 7 – Regan Smith – Chevrolet – JR Motorsports – 29.195 | -0.315
  10. 16 – Ryan Reed# – Ford – Roush-Fenway Racing – 29.196 | -0.316

# = Rookie, (i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Nationwide Series points.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment