Friesen Kicks Off 2014 World Finals With A Win On Friday Night

Friesen Kicks Off 2014 World Finals With A Win On Friday Night

by November 7, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Wayne Thomas

CONCORD, N.C. – Stewart Friesen took the checkered flag in the Modified Super DIRTcar Series 40-lap A-Main on Friday night at The Dirt Track at Charlotte during the Bad Boy Buggies World of Outlaws World Finals.

A field of 28 cars started the main event, and it didn’t take long for the action to heat up. Gary Tomkins and Tyler Siri got together in turn four to bring out the one and only caution on Lap 9. Once back to green, Matt Sheppard continued to dominate.

By lap 15, Matt Sheppard and Brett Hearn were door-to-door for the race lead. The two drivers were literally leaning on each other, and that opened the door for Stewart Friesen to chase the two drivers down and challenge for the race lead.

“This track changes so much, and it’s so different to what we’re used to up in the northeast,” Friesen said. “Our tires are a little bit more of a harder compound, and we were able to apply that tonight and really get them working right there halfway through the race.”

Friesen was able to make the pass around Sheppard on Lap 20 for the race lead, and from there, he worked through lapped traffic and captured the victory. The last time Friesen was in Victory Lane at The Dirt Track at Charlotte was last year during Saturday’s edition of the World Finals.

Brett Hearn held on for a runner-up finish. Matt Sheppard finished third, followed by Duane Howard and Tyler Dippel.

Matt Shepard currently leads the Modified Super DIRTcar Series point standings. Billy Decker trails by 20 points. Brett Hearn is third, Jimmy Phelps fourth and Justin Haers rounds out the top-five.

Hot laps for the series kickoff Saturday’s action at 4 p.m. ET.

Friday’s Modified Super DIRTcar Series Results:
1.) #1F Stewart Friesen
2.) #20 Brett Hearn
3.) #9H Matt Sheppard
4.) #66 Duane Howard
5.) #1T Tyler Dippel
6.) #74M Matt Billings
7.) #98h Jimmy Phelps
8.) #747 Ryan Godown
9.) #91 Billy Decker
10.) #7z Erick Rudolp
11.) #27J Danny Johnson
12.) #66x Carey Terrance
13.) #21a Peter Britten
14.) #3 Justin Haers
15.) #115 Kenny Tremont Jr.
16.) #99L Larry Wight
17.) #10v Billy VanInwegen
18.) #6 Mat Williamson
19.) #42p Pat Ward
20.) #14s Doug Manmiller
21.) #7 Rick Laubach
22.) #43 Keith Flach
23.) #83 Brian Swartzlander
24.) #673 Gary Tomkins
25.) #3d Matt DeLorenzo
26.) #1 Billy Pauch
27.) #4* Tim McCreadie
28.) #5* Tyler Siri

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment