Daryn Pittman Holds On To Claim First Win In Charlotte Since 2002

Daryn Pittman Holds On To Claim First Win In Charlotte Since 2002

by November 8, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Wayne Thomas

CONCORD, N.C. – In a green-white-checkered finish, Daryn Pittman claimed victory in the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series at The Dirt Track at Charlotte for the first time since 2002 on Friday night, during the Bad Boy Buggies World of Outlaws World Finals.

During the first half of the 30-lap A-Main, the field followed Rico Abreu who had been fast all afternoon. The first caution of the race came out on Lap 17, when Craig Dollansky spun in turn two. Abreu led the first 22 laps until Daryn Pittman completed the pass exiting turn four on lap 23.

Just as Pittman made his way around Abreu, the caution flew once again for Dollansky who had stopped in turn one. During the caution, last year’s Saturday night winner, Paul McMahan retired from the event due to a mechanical issue.

On the restart, the field only completed a lap when Dave Blaney also had a mechanical issue and stopped on the frontstretch to bring out the third caution. Donllansky brought out the fourth and final caution on Lap 29 when he spun off turn two, collecting Bill Balog. The crash happened just in front of the leaders, and Pittman just barely slipped by.

The caution set the field up for an intense, single file green-white-checkered finish. Once the green came out, Daryn Pittman set sail and never looked back. Rico Abreu held on for a runner-up finish. Brad Sweet finish third, followed by Danny Lasoski and Greg Hodnett.

“You’ve really got to have a good car,” Pittman said. “You can’t run that close to the wall without a good handling car, and my car was spot on. I could run the top or the bottom…It was really two different racetracks. You had to run the car as hard as you possibly could on the top, but you really had to slow down and hit your marks on the bottom.”

The World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series will hit the track on Saturday, following the Hot Laps of the Modified Super DIRTcar Series and the World of Outlaws Late Model Series. Hot laps are set to begin at 4 p.m. ET.

Friday’s World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Results:
1.) #9 Daryn Pittman
2.) #24R Rico Abreu
3.) #49 Brad Sweet
4.) #2D Danny Lasoski
5.) 27 Greg Hodnett
6.) 19M Brent Marks
7.) #51S Stevie Smith
8.) #71M Joey Saldana
9.) #83 David Gravel
10.) #24 Terry McCarl
11.) #W20 Greg Wilson
12.) #63 Kody Swanson
13.) #15 Donny Schatz
14.) #94 Ryan Smith
15.) #29 Kerry Madsen
16.) #11K Kraig Kinser
17.) #1s Logan Schuchart
18.) #1A Jacob Allen
19.) #7 Craig Dollansky
20.) #17B Bill Balog
21.) #4 Cody Darrah
22.) #51 Paul McMahan
23.) #98H Dave Blaney
24.) #7S Jason Sides
25.) #45 Tim Shaffer
26.) #14 Lance Dewease

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment