Darrell Lanigan Claims Victory In Photo Finish At Charlotte

Darrell Lanigan Claims Victory In Photo Finish At Charlotte

by November 8, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Wayne Thomas

CONCORD, N.C. – For the second year in a row, Darrell Lanigan captured the World of Outlaws Late Model Series win during Friday night’s edition of the Bad Boy Buggies World of Outlaws World Finals, however this year, it was by mere feet.

The first half of the main event was dominated by Chris Madden. Chase Junghans brought out the first caution of the night on Lap 10, and 12 laps later, it flew again for Chub Frank who had a flat tire.

With 20 laps to go, Darrell Lanigan caught leader, Chris Madden and tried to make the move for the race lead on the high side. On Lap 36, Madden got together with the lapped car of Chub Frank in turn two to bring out the final caution. Madden continued to hold the lead, but his car suffered heavy right side damage.

“Just the racetrack got one lane on us there, and you know leading, it’s definitely not the place to be in lapped traffic, and it opened up the door for those guys to choose another line, and we got beat,” Madden said.

On the final lap, Lanigan on the high side, was able to get alongside Madden and beat him to the line by just feet in an epic photo finish. Lanigan fell back to third with only five laps to go, but he was able to pull off the victory by leaning on the cushion. Friday night’s win marks Lanigan’s 70th career win, and his 17th of the season.

“Yea it was unbelievable,” Lanigan said. “I think I’ve been taking lessons from my crew chief. I watched him on video a few weeks ago, and he did the same thing. We were a little harder on tires, so I knew I had to stay up on that top and keep my stuff going. Actually I didn’t know it was the last lap, but unbelievable car.”

The World of Outlaws Late Model Series Hot Laps will follow the Modified Super DIRTcar Series’ laps that start at 4 p.m. on Saturday afternoon.

Friday’s World of Outlaws Late Model Series Results:
1.) #29 Darrell Lanigan
2.) #44M Chris Madden
3.) #0 Scott Bloomquist
4.) #20 Jimmy Owens
5.) #28 Dennis Erb Jr.
6.) #5 Don O’Neal
7.) #18 Eric Wells
8.) #39 Tim McCreadie
9.) #17M Dale McDowell
10.) #32M Bub McCool
11.) #101 Casey Roberts
12.) #1 Josh Richards
13.) #21 Billy Moyer
14.) #15 Steve Francis
15.) #15s Donny Schatz
16.) #777 Jared Landers
17.) #124 Rick Eckert
18.) #25z Mason Zeigler
19.) #18c Chase Junghans
20.) #99jr Frank Heckenast Jr.
21.) #14M Morgan Bagley
22.) #25 Shane Clanton
23.) #1* Chub Frank
24.) #99B Boom Briggs
25.) #6 Jonathan Davenport
26.) #11R James Rice
27.) #11 Austin Hubbard
28.) 25F Jason Feger
29.) #44 Clint Smith

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment