Millen Dominates Round 8 In Los Angeles

Millen Dominates Round 8 In Los Angeles

by September 25, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Larry Chen / Red Bull Content Pool

LOS ANGELES, Calif – Rhys Millen took the checkered flag for the second time this season during Round 8 of the Red Bull Global Rallycross schedule at the Port of Los Angeles on Sunday afternoon.

Ken Block won Heat A with Bucky Lasek finishing second, followed by Austin Dyne. Unfortunately for Tanner Foust, he was unable to start the heat race due to engine issues. Foust also missed out on the LCQ and wasn’t able to compete on Sunday afternoon.

Sverre Isachsen got the advantage on the start of Heat B, however he jumped the start and had to serve a stop and go penalty. Rhys Millen won the heat while Joni Wiman was able to use the Joker to take second away from Travis Pastrana who just did hold off Steve Arpin for the transfer spot.

Leading all of the laps in the LCQ, Isachsen took the checkered flag. Patrik Sandell crossed the line in second with Nelson Piquet Jr. finishing third and Scott Speed capturing the final transfer spot in fourth.

Rhys Millen dominated the main event and joined Scott Speed as the only two drivers to win multiple events this season. Ken Block took over the point lead in Round 7 and then increased his lead in Round 8 after capturing a runner-up finish. Joni Wiman tried to use the Joker to get around Block but was unsuccessful and had to settle for a third place finish.

“It’s so great to be here,” Wiman said. “To be honest, I didn’t expect to do this well my first year, but of course I’m happy. It’s everything for me to get a good start on the weekend, feel it out fast, and get happy with the car, and then it’s just rolling on.”

With Block finishing second on Sunday, Ford was able to clinch their fourth consecutive Red Bull Global Rallycross Supercar Manufacture Championship. Since scoring 107 points back in June in Washington DC, Ford still remains the only manufacturer to post a perfect weekend this season.

“The season did start off a bit rough, and it took a bit to recover from that,” Block, driver of the No.43 Hoonigan Racing Division Ford said. “From there, we just kind of put our head down and put as much work in as we could. It’s been a bit of luck, and coming from behind with hard work, that has gotten me five podiums in a row. I just wanted consistency, I wanted some good finishes, and it’s just kind of steamrolled into this lead. Really, that’s motorsports—sometimes it’s not who wins every race, it’s who is the most consistent.”

The driver point battle has dramatically changed while the Supercars were in Los Angeles. Ken Block now leads Joni Wiman by 18 points. Scott Speed is third, followed by Nelson Piquet Jr. and Patrik Sandell who rounds out the top-five.

The Red Bull Global Rallycross will visit Seattle, Wash. on Saturday September, 27 for Round 9 of the schedule. On Sunday, September 28, NBC will air a delayed airing of the event at 4:30 p.m. EST.

Round 8 Port of Los Angeles Results:
1.) #67 Rhys Millen
2.) #43 Ken Block
3.) #31 Joni Wiman
4.) #11 Sverre Isachsen
5.) #81 Bucky Lasek
6.) #77 Scott Speed
7.) #18 Patrik Sandell
8.) #199 Travis Pastrana
9.) #07 Nelson Piquet Jr.
10.) #14 Austin Dyne
11.) #27 Emma Gilmour
12.) #00 Steve Arpin
13.) #34 Tanner Foust

Driver Points:
1.) Ken Block 299
2.) Joni Wiman 281
3.) Scott Speed 275
4.) #Nelson Piquet Jr. 265
5.) Patrik Sandell 216
6.) Steve Arpin 202
7.) Sverre Isachsen 194
8.) Bucky Lasek 170
9.) Tanner Foust 166
10.) Rhys Millen 162
11.) Austin Dyne 144
12.) Brian Deegan 85
13.) Emma Gilmour
14.) Pat Moro 5

Manufacturer Points:
1.) Ford 748
2.) Volkswagen 441
3.) Subaru 364
4.) Hyundai 199
5.) Chevrolet 5

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment