Johnny Sauter on Top in Chicagoland Final Practice

Johnny Sauter on Top in Chicagoland Final Practice

by September 11, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Kyle Pokrefky/The Fourth Turn

JOLIET, Ill. — Johnny Sauter ran the fastest time in final practice for the Lucas Oil 225  by running a lap of 30.588 seconds in the closing minutes of the 90-minute session at Chicagoland Speedway.

Sauter ran a lap that was nearly two-tenths of a second quicker than second-quickest driver Brennan Newberry to claim the top spot on the speed chart over the 24-year-old from Bakersfield, California. Both ThorSport Racing and NTS Motorsports would be the class of the field in final practice with every driver from both teams placing within the top-seven. Running behind Sauter and Newberry on the speed chart in the top-10 would be Jeb Burton, Austin Dillon, Darrell Wallace Jr., German Quiroga, Matt Crafton, Erik Jones, Timothy Peters, and Joey Coulter.

Practice in race trim was what would be on the cards for a majority of the session with drivers experimenting with the various lines of Chicagoland’s 18-degree banked corners throughout the entire 90 minutes, providing for side-by-side racing action. The draft would be in full use during practice as drivers would hit pit road and leave pit road in a train to make a run together in a line as a group.

First practice leader Ryan Blaney would be unable to replicate his first practice time in the closing session of the day – running 11th-quickest ahead of rookie teammate Tyler Reddick. The Turner Scott Motorsports duo of Ben Kennedy and Tayler Malsam would also have trouble hanging with the pace of the ThorSport and NTS trucks as they would respectively place 17th and 18th on the speed chart.

One brief caution would come out during the entire duration for the session for fluid that was reported dropping from Mike Harmon’s No. 74 Chevrolet.

Top-10 Final Practice Speeds for the Lucas Oil 225

  1. 98 – Johnny Sauter – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 30.588 | Leader
  2. 9 – Brennan Newberry – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports – 30.766 | -o.178
  3. 13 – Jeb Burton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 30.774 | -0.186
  4. 20 – Austin Dillon(i) – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports – 30.807 | -0.219
  5. 54 – Darrell Wallace Jr. – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports – 20.823 | -0.235
  6. 77 – German Quiroga – Toyota – Red Horse Racing – 30.877 | -0.289
  7. 88 – Matt Crafton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 30.950 | -0.362
  8. 51 – Erik Jones* – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports – 30.955 | -0.367
  9. 17 – Timothy Peters – Toyota – Red Horse Racing  – 30.957 | -0.369
  10. 21 – Joey Coulter – Chevrolet – GMS Racing – 30.986 | -0.398

(i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points, * = Substitute for Kyle Busch.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment