Johnny Sauter on Pole Due to Rain at Chicagoland

Johnny Sauter on Pole Due to Rain at Chicagoland

by September 12, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Rainier Ehrhardt/NASCAR via Getty Images

JOLIET, Ill. — With rains making the surface of the Chicagoland Speedway unsafe to race on, qualifying has been officially rained out for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series’ Lucas Oil 225. By the rules stated in the NASCAR rulebook, the field for the Lucas Oil 225 will be set by the average between first practice and final practice speeds – handing Johnny Sauter to the first starting position for the 150-lap race.

Sauter will be joined on the front row by NTS Motorsports’ Brennan Newberry and will have his ThorSport Racing teammate, Jeb Burton, starting behind him in the third position. Austin Dillon and Ryan Blaney will start from the fourth and fifth positions while Darrell Wallace Jr., German Quiroga, Matt Crafton, Timothy Peters, and Joey Coulter will round out the top-10 starting positions.

Defending Chicagoland winner Kyle Busch will start from the rear of the field for tonight’s race for a driver change due to Erik Jones practicing the No. 51 Dollar General Toyota in both practice sessions on Thursday. Busch would have started from the seventh position.

With 32 trucks entered for the race, every driver entered for the race will make the field.

The eventual winner of the Lucas Oil 225 has never come from within the top-three. The average starting position of the eventual winner of the race is 6.2. A driver starting from outside of the top-10 has gone on to win the race once when James Buescher won from the 11th-position in 2012.

Top-10 Starters for the Lucas Oil 225

  1. 98 – Johnny Sauter – Toyota – ThorSport Racing
  2. 9 – Brennan Newberry – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports
  3. 13 – Jeb Burton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing
  4. 20 – Austin Dillon(i) – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports
  5. 29 – Ryan Blaney – Ford – Brad Keselowski Racing
  6. 54 – Darrell Wallace Jr. – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports
  7. 77 – German Quiroga – Toyota – Red Horse Racing
  8. 88 – Matt Crafton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing
  9. 17 – Timothy Peters – Toyota – Red Horse Racing
  10. 21 – Joey Coulter – Chevrolet – GMS Racing

(i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment