Kevin Swindell Runs Away with the 100

Kevin Swindell Runs Away with the 100

by August 17, 2014 0 comments

Photo credit:

SPRINGFIELD, Ill. — Kevin Swindell (Venturini Motorsports) went to victory lane in the ARCA Racing Series for the second time in his career after winning the 100 at the Illinois State Fairgrounds on Sunday afternoon.

Not too shabby for a driver who wasn’t even initially entered for the 100-lap event and had not made a series start since 2012.

Swindell was entered late for Sunday’s event as a substitute for the recovering John Wes Townley and would utilize his dirt-racing expertise to lead the field to the checkered flag by 8.317 seconds despite having a No. 15 Zaxby’s Toyota that took body damage to the left front fender in practice.

The four-time Chili Bowl Nationals champion would dominate the late stages of the race and would finish ahead of Mason Mitchell (Mason Mitchell Motorsports), Grant Enfinger (GMS Racing), Frank Kimmel (Win-Tron Racing), and Will Kimmel (Kimmel Racing) to claim the third win of the year for Venturini Motorsports. Rounding out the top-10 were Kelly Kovski (Allgaier Motorsports), Justin Boston (Venturini Motorsports), Ken Schrader (Ken Schrader Racing), Shane Cockrum (Brad Hill), and Austin Wayne Self (Cunningham Motorsports.)

As he pulled into victory lane, the 25-year-old would be greeted by his father – sprint car legend Sammy Swindell – as he parked his car on the damp clay frontstretch. After climbing out of his car, today’s victor spoke of the work his pit crew put in to keep his car race-able with its existing body damage.

“This is awesome,” the winning Swindell said. “They gave me a great car and did a lot of work on it. I’m so thankful for the chance to take this car to victory lane. They kept beating and banging on the car during the pit stops and the car was good. Luckily, the hits weren’t too hard and didn’t do a lot of a damage. It didn’t really affect the car.”

Mitchell would hang on to his points lead by making a hard charge to take second from championship rival Enfinger in the closing stages of the race. The driver of the No. 98 Musselman’s-Wildlife Foundation of Florida-TTS Ford would also help his bid for the 2014 ARCA Racing Series’ drivers’ championship by leading the first 31 laps of the race.

Enfinger looked as if he was on his way to winning his second consecutive race for GMS Racing and his sixth of the year in his No. 90 Casite-Motor Honey-Allegiant Travel Chevrolet. Last week’s Berlin winner would lead the most laps (33) on his way to his third-place finish.

Local dirt track drivers Kovski and Cockrum would make an impact in the 100-lapper with their respective performances. Kovski would finish sixth after starting from the 27th position while Cockrum would earn a top-10 at Springfield for the second year in a row with his ninth-place run.

Defending 100 winner Brendan Poole (Venturini Motorsports) would not have a chance to defend his Springfield crown as he would retire early into Sunday’s race with radiator issues that would sideline the No. 55 Venturini Motorsports Toyota after 36 laps.

Six caution flags would fly on Sunday with 32 of the 100 laps completed under yellow-flag conditions. While dark rain clouds would roll in over the track shortly before the halfway point, the skies would only open for a very light drizzle for several brief moments during the race. No caution flag was ever thrown for any rain-related cause.

With the 15th race of the 2014 ARCA Racing Series season in the books, the ARCA garage now head to Wisconsin for next Sunday’s Herr’s Live Life with Flavor 200 at the Madison International Speedway. The No. 15 Venturini Motorsports Toyota went to victory lane at Madison last year with Kyle Weatherman (now with Roulo Brothers Racing) behind the wheel.

Top-10 Finishers of the 100

  1. 15 – Kevin Swindell – Toyota – Venturini Motorsports
  2. 98 – Mason Mitchell – Ford – Mason Mitchell Motorsports
  3. 90 – Grant Enfinger – Chevrolet – GMS Racing
  4. 44 – Frank Kimmel – Toyota – Win-Tron Racing
  5. 69 – Will Kimmel – Ford – Kimmel Racing
  6. 16 – Kelly Kovski – Chevrolet – Allgaier Motorsports
  7. 25 – Justin Boston – Toyota – Venturini Motorsports
  8. 52 – Ken Schrader – Chevrolet – Ken Schrader Racing
  9. 71 – Shane Cockrum – Ford –
  10. 22 – Austin Wayne Self – Dodge – Cunningham Motorsports


Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment