Blaney Fends Off Quiroga to Win Thrilling Chevrolet Silverado 250

Blaney Fends Off Quiroga to Win Thrilling Chevrolet Silverado 250

by August 31, 2014 0 comments

Photo credit: NASCAR via Getty Images 

BOWMANVILLE, Ontario. — In a finish for the ages, Ryan Blaney successfully fended off German Quiroga to win his first race of the year in the Chevrolet Silverado 250 at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

The driver of the No. 29 Cooper Standard Ford out-dueled Quiroga to the line by 0.050 seconds to put a Brad Keselowski Racing Ford F-150 in victory lane for the second consecutive week. The win is also Blaney’s third career win in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series

Blaney would hold the lead clear of Quiroga as he took the white flag but the driver of the no. 77 Toyota would fight his way to the outside on the Mario Andretti Straight and would clear the No. 29 into Turn 9. Blaney would pull a crossover maneuver out of Turn 10 and would just scoot the bumper of his truck ahead of Quiroga’s to steal away the win at the line.

“I noticed since that last restart that he’d get huge tows down the backstretch and just get a huge draft,” Blaney said of the finish. “I had to protect as best I could. He was able to get to my left side, and I didn’t think he could stay out there. But I got really, really loose underneath him there in that corner. The old-school short track racing cross-over move, I guess, worked on him.”

For Quiroga, he feels that he and his Red Horse Racing team are creeping closer and closer to breaking through for their first win together.

“They gave me a winning truck, and we came second,” Quiroga said. “It hurts. We’ve come so close, so many times. But we have to keep on trying.”

Blaney and Quiroga would be followed to the line by Erik Jones, Gray Gaulding, and Andrew Ranger. Rounding out the top-10 would be Matt Crafton, Brennan Newberry, Johnny Sauter, Cole Custer, and Timothy Peters.

The race would kick off with a 47-lap green flag run that would bring pit strategy in as a major determinant to the running order. Some drivers like pole-sitter and race favorite Alex Tagliani would pit within the first 10 laps of the race while some drivers like Blaney would stretch their run out to Lap 30. Not all teams elected to pit for the standard service of a full tank and four tires however; Quiroga would gain his track position by electing to take fuel only on his first pit stop.

The race’s first caution would come out on Lap 47 when John Hunter Nemechek’s No. 8 truck would be slow on track after returning to the racing surface after being in the garage for electrical issues. The race’s second and final caution would come out on Lap 54 when Tagliani would go for a spin and stall out on the track. Earlier in the lap, Tagliani would send Custer around for a spin in a move that the Canadian native would later apologize for.

With his win, Blaney was able to close to within 13 points of points leader Sauter as the series returns to an oval track for Chicagoland Speedway’s Lucas Oil 225 in two weeks. Sauter currently leads ThorSport Racing teammate Matt Crafton by seven points heading into round 15 of the 2014 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season.

Top-10 Finishers of the Chevrolet Silverado 250

  1. 29 – Ryan Blaney – Ford – Brad Keselowski Racing
  2. 77 – German Quiroga – Toyota – Red Horse Racing
  3. 51 – Erik Jones – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports
  4. 20 – Gray Gaulding# – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports
  5. 53 – Andrew Ranger – Dodge – NDS Motorsports
  6. 88 – Matt Crafton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing
  7. 9 – Brennan Newberry – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports
  8. 98 – Johnny Sauter – Toyota – ThorSport Racing
  9. 00 – Cole Custer – Chevrolet – Haas Racing Development
  10. 17 – Timothy Peters – Toyota – Red Horse Racing

Top-10 in the Drivers’ Standings after Round 14 of 22

  1. 98 – Johnny Sauter – ThorSport Racing – 524 | Leader
  2. 88 – Matt Crafton – ThorSport Racing – 517 | -7
  3. 29 – Ryan Blaney – Brad Keselowski Racing – 511 | -13
  4. 54 – Darrell Wallace Jr. – Kyle Busch Motorsports – 486 | -38
  5. 77 – German Quiroga – Red Horse Racing – 476 | -48
  6. — – Ron Hornaday Jr. – — – 460 | -64
  7. 21 – Joey Coulter – GMS Racing – 456 | -68
  8. 17 – Timothy Peters – Red Horse Racing – 448 | -76
  9. 31 – Ben Kennedy# – Turner Scott Motorsports – 441 | -83
  10. 13 – Jeb Burton – ThorSport Racing – 420 | -104

# = Rookie, (i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment