Alex Tagliani Wins Keystone Light Pole Award for Chevrolet Silverado 250

Alex Tagliani Wins Keystone Light Pole Award for Chevrolet Silverado 250

by August 30, 2014 0 comments

Photo credit: Rainier Ehrhardt/NASCAR via Getty Images

BOWMANVILLE, Ontario. — Alex Tagliani made a statement in his first race weekend in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series by taking the Keystone Light Pole Award for Sunday’s Chevrolet Silverado 250 at the Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Tagliani was able to fend off Gray Gaulding, Erik Jones, German Quiroga, and Cole Custer in the final 10-minute round of qualifying to claim his second NASCAR National Series pole of the year in front of his countrymen. Fellow Canadian Andrew Ranger, Darrell Wallace Jr., Matt Crafton, Timothy Peters, and another Canadian, Cameron Hayley, would round out the top-10.

Tagliani’s pole-winning lap time of 80.558 seconds was enough to topple the track record of 81.074 seconds from last year that was set by former NCWTS driver James Buescher.

Qualifying would have its share of hairy moments for the teams in the garage as GMS Racing’s Joey Coulter would go off-course in Q1 and would bounce off the tire barriers, requiring Coulter to pit to repair the body damage to the No. 21 truck. Jeb Burton would have issues of the mechanical variety with the transmission on the No. 13 Estes/Carolina Nut Co. Toyota breaking during Q1. Coulter and Burton would miss out of advancing to Q2 and would, respectively, settle for the 15th and 17th grid positions for tomorrow’s race.

Drivers other than Coulter and Burton that would miss out on the cutoff for the final qualifying round were Brennan Newberry, Ryan Blaney, John Hunter Nemechek, Tyler Young, and Mason Mingus.

In last year’s inaugural running of the Chevrolet Silverado 250, the pole-sitter would wind up finishing in the ninth position. The eventual winner, Chase Elliott, would come from the fourth starting position.

All that remains for the race weekend is the 64-lap race, which will take place tomorrow afternoon. FOX Sports 1 will have live television coverage starting at 1:00 p.m EST.

Top-10 Qualifiers for the Chevrolet Silverado 250

  1. 19 – Alex Tagliani(i) – Ford – Brad Keselowski Racing – 80.558 | Leader
  2. 20 – Gray Gaulding# – Chevrolet – NTS Motorsports – 80.991 | -0.433
  3. 51 – Erik Jones – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports – 81.015 | -0.457
  4. 77 – German Quiroga – Toyota – Red Horse Racing – 81.057 | -0.499
  5. 00 – Cole Custer – Chevrolet – Haas Racing Development  – 81.207 | -0.649
  6. 53 – Andrew Ranger – Dodge – NDS Motorsports – 81.359 | -0.801
  7. 54 – Darrell Wallace Jr. – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports – 81.405 | -0.847
  8. 88 – Matt Crafton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 81.418 | -0.860
  9. 17 – Timothy Peters – Toyota – Red Horse Racing – 81.576 | -1.018
  10. 32 – Cameron Hayley – Chevrolet – Turner Scott Motorsports – 82.020 | -1.462

# = Rookie, (i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment