Four-in-a-Row for Ford Racing

Four-in-a-Row for Ford Racing

by July 13, 2014 0 comments

Photo: Jonathan Ferrey/Getty Images

LOUDON, N.H. — For the first time since 2001, Ford have won four Sprint Cup races in a row with Brad Keselowski (Team Penske) taking the win in today’s Camping World RV Sales 301 in New Hampshire.

Keselowski has contributed two wins to Ford’s current streak with his win in Loudon today and his win in the Quaker State 400 at the Kentucky Speedway two weeks ago. Carl Edwards (Roush-Fenway Racing) kicked the current hot streak off for the manufacturer with his win in the Toyota/Save Mart 350k at the Sonoma Raceway. Aric Almirola (Richard Petty Motorsports) extended the win streak to three races with his rain-shortened win at Daytona in last Sunday’s Coke Zero 400.

Ford drivers have thus far taken eight trophies this year, and we are only 19 races through the Sprint Cup season. This year marks the hottest start for the manufacturer in a decade – Ford have already won more races in 19 races than they have in the last four full seasons. The last time Ford won eight races by the conclusion of the 19th race of the season was in 2005; Ford would end up racing a total of 16 points races by the end of that year.

Ford’s eight victories this year have come from three different race teams – Team Penske contributing the most wins with five, Roush-Fenway Racing contributing two with Edwards, and Richard Petty Motorsports and Almirola contributing their lone victory at Daytona. The Ford stable has become a much more formidable force as a whole over the last decade; 2005’s wins for the manufacturer were split between Roush-Fenway Racing with 15 and the now-defunct Robert Yates Racing who won once with Dale Jarrett at Talladega.

The last time Ford won four races in a row was in the spring of 2001 spanning across Darlington, Bristol, Texas, and Martinsville. Elliott Sadler won at Bristol for Wood Brothers Racing while Jarrett won the other three races for RYR.

Ford’s 10 full-time teams will head to the Indianapolis Motor Speedway next for the Crown Royal presents the John Wayne Walding 400 that will take place on July 27th. Ford have not won at ‘The Brickyard’ since 1999 when Dale Jarrett won the race for RYR.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment