Racing Community Honors Driver At Dillon Motor Speedway

Racing Community Honors Driver At Dillon Motor Speedway

by May 6, 2014 0 comments


Dillon, S.C. (May 7, 2014): Dillon Motor Speedway hosted the Darlington Raceway 200 and honored Street Stock driver, John Schaak on Saturday, May 3.

To remember John Schaak who lost his life to a heart attack last weekend, the speedway held a moment of silence just before the green flag and raised $3,300 for his family. The majority of the Street Stock drivers ran Schaak’s No. 26 on the side of their cars, as well.

Jeff Melton led the majority of the Street Stock feature, but in the closing laps, Charles Hutto was able to make the pass for the lead. Hutto was able to hold on for the win with Melton finishing a close second. Sonny Shoffen overcame a mid-race spin to round out the top-three. Ron Flynn finished fourth, and Ricky Locklair Jr. finished fifth.

In the Late Model division, Tim Allensworth started on the pole and led the first part of the 50-lap feature. However, once Greg Peterson got around Allensworth for the race lead, he never looked back to capture his second victory in a row this season. Tim Allensworth finished second, followed by Jason Clark and 2013 Late Model Track Champion, Ryan Hall. Shaun Mangum rounded out the top-five.

Jimmy Herrington dominated the caution free Super Truck feature by leading all 50 laps to capture his first win of the season. Brad Cox tried to chase Herrington down all night long, but he came up short to finish second. Hal Goodson finished third, and Kevin Parsons finished fourth. Bryan Blackwell finished fifth.

Michael Obrien led all laps in the Charger feature to earn his third win in a row at the speedway. Obrien is the only Charger driver to reach Victory Lane so far in 2014. There is a $500 bounty on Obrien this weekend. Ricky Locklair finished second, followed by Michael Williamson, William Haynie and Ben Watford.

Steve Chauncey won the first Carolina Eastern Mini Cup Association feature of the season at the speedway. Chalin Williamson finished second, John Sofield third, Steve Davis fourth and Karen Melton rounded out the top-five.

Marty Dean edged Kayla Dean for the Pure Stock Four feature win. Andy Norton finished third, followed by Captain Morgan and Mark Dean.

On Saturday, May 10, Dillon Motor Speedway will host the Black’s Tire Service 200. Divisions that’ll be competing include the Late Models, $1,200 to win; Chargers, $400 to win plus possible $500 bounty; Street Stocks, $300 to win; Pure Stock Fours, $200 to win and Mini Cup Stocks, $100 to win. Tickets are only $12, and kids 11 years old and younger enter the gates for free. Practice begins at 4 p.m., followed by qualifying at 6 p.m. and the green flag at 8 p.m.

For more information, please visit Follow Dillon Motor Speedway on Facebook and on Twitter, @DillonSpeedway. You may also call the race hotline at 843.496.4790.

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment