Kyle Busch Pole Winner for History 300

Kyle Busch Pole Winner for History 300

by May 24, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Matt Sullivan/Getty Images

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Kyle Busch (Joe Gibbs Racing) claimed his second Nationwide Series Coors Light Pole Award of the year by taking the pole position for today’s History 300 at the Charlotte Motor Speedway.

With his award, Busch claimed his 38th career pole position in the Nationwide Series and the second of his career at Charlotte.

Busch successfully defended his pole-winning effort from a pair of fellow NASCAR Sprint Cup Series regulars – Brad Keselowski (Team Penske) and Kyle Larson (Turner Scott Motorsports.) Keselowski is making his first Nationwide Series start since Las Vegas earlier in the year while Larson returns to his No. 42 Chevrolet after taking last weekend’s Iowa race off.

Larson’s teammate, Dylan Kwasniewski, turned in another strong qualifying performance that places him fourth on the grid for this afternoon’s race. Kwasniewski’s qualifying run gave him his third top-five starting position of the year.

The battle for the series’ points lead will be contested right at the drop of the green flag as Regan Smith (JR Motorsports), Elliott Sadler (Joe Gibbs Racing), and current leader Chase Elliott (JR Motorsports), will all start right next to each other from positions eight through 10.

Historically, the top-10 is the place to be at the start of the race as the last 10 Charlotte winners have come from a top-10 starting position. While it’s better to start towards the front, the pole sitter for the races here has only won the race once in the last 26 Nationwide Series events held at the track. Busch was the last driver to win here from the pole when he took victory in last October’s Dollar General 300.

The History 300 is set to get underway momentarily. Television coverage will be provided by ABC beginning at 2:30 p.m ET. The Performance Racing Network (PRN) and SiriusXM Satellite NASCAR Channel 90 will provide radio coverage. For live updates of the race, follow @TheFourthTurn, @HunterThomas08, and @KPokrefky on Twitter.

Top-10 Qualifiers for the History 300

  1. 54 – Kyle Busch(i) – Toyota – Joe Gibbs Racing – 29.493 seconds | Leader
  2. 22 – Brad Keselowski(i) – Ford – Team Penske – 29.564 seconds | -0.071
  3. 42 – Kyle Larson(i) – Chevrolet – Turner Scott Motorsports – 29.638 seconds | -0.145
  4. 31 – Dylan Kwasniewski# – Chevrolet – Turner Scott Motorsports – 29.705 seconds | -0.212
  5. 5 – Kevin Harvick(i) – Chevrolet – JR Motorsports – 29.745 seconds | -0.252
  6. 2 – Brian Scott – Chevrolet – Richard Childress Racing – 29.851 seconds | -0.358
  7. 20 – Matt Kenseth(i) – Toyota – Joe Gibbs Racing – 29.942 seconds | -0.449
  8. 7 – Regan Smith – Chevrolet – JR Motorsports – 30.015 seconds | -0.525
  9. 9 – Chase Elliott# – Chevrolet – JR Motorsports – 30.018 seconds | -0.528
  10. 11 – Elliott Sadler – Toyota – Joe Gibbs Racing – 30.050 seconds | -0.557

# = Rookie.

(i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Nationwide Series points.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment