Kyle Busch on Pole for North Carolina Education Lottery 200

Kyle Busch on Pole for North Carolina Education Lottery 200

by May 16, 2014 0 comments

Photo Credit: Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Kyle Busch (Kyle Busch Motorsports) not only topped the speedcharts in this afternoon’s practice for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 but he did it again in qualifying to claim the pole for tonight’s race.

Busch ran a lap of 29.384 seconds in the third and final qualifying round to earn the 14th Keystone Light Pole Award of his career and his second consecutive pole of the season. Busch’s scorcher of a lap was .166 seconds quicker than second-place qualifier Matt Crafton’s (ThorSport Racing) lap. Busch’s lap time was also quick enough to shatter Mike Skinner’s old track record of 29.5 seconds set in 2005.

Crafton led a ThorSport charge in qualifying that placed his No. 88 Tundra second on the grid. Teammates Johnny Sauter and Jeb Burton will start from seventh and eighth, respectively.

Brad Keselowski (Brad Keselowski Racing) came up short of earning his second career Keystone Light Pole Award in his first start of the season. Keselowski’s lap of 29.586 seconds was quick enough to place him third on the grid. Keselowski’s teammate Ryan Blaney will start from the 10th position.

The Turner Scott Motorsports duo of Ron Hornaday Jr. and Ben Kennedy were able to turn in quick laps in Q3 as well, placing themselves in the respective fourth and sixth positions. Part-time teammate Tayler Malsam was unable to join his teammates in the third session and will start from the 19th position.

Busch’s quest for his fourth consecutive Charlotte Truck win will get off on the right foot tonight with his first-place starting spot. Busch was able to win the 2010 Truck race from the pole – that win being the only instance of a pole winner going on to win the race. Busch’s average starting position in each of his five previous wins at Charlotte is 6.8.

Coverage for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 kicks off tonight on FOX Sports 1 at 8:00 p.m ET.

Top-10 Qualifiers for the North Carolina Education Lottery 200

  1. 51 – Kyle Busch(i) – Toyota – Kyle Busch Motorsports – 29.384 seconds | Leader
  2. 88 – Matt Crafton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 29.550 seconds | -0.166
  3. 19 – Brad Keselowski(i) – Ford – Brad Keselowski Racing – 29.586 seconds | -0.202
  4. 30 – Ron Hornaday Jr. – Chevrolet – Turner Scott Motorsports – 29.720 seconds | -0.336
  5. 7 – Brian Ickler – Toyota – Red Horse Racing – 29.742 seconds | -0.358
  6. 31 – Ben Kennedy# – Chevrolet – Turner Scott Motorsports – 29.752 seconds | -0.368
  7. 98 – Johnny Sauter – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 29.806 seconds | -0.422
  8. 13 – Jeb Burton – Toyota – ThorSport Racing – 29.818 seconds | -0.434
  9. 17 – Timothy Peters – Toyota – Red Horse Racing – 29.888 seconds | -0.504
  10. 29 – Ryan Blaney – Ford – Brad Keselowski Racing – 29.921 seconds | -0.537

# = Rookie.

(i) = Ineligible for NASCAR Camping World Truck Series points.

Kyle Pokrefky
Follow Kyle Pokrefky on Twitter at @KPokrefky

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment