Josh Richards Caps Championship Season Off With A Win In Charlotte

Josh Richards Caps Championship Season Off With A Win In Charlotte

by November 10, 2013 0 comments

CONCORD, NC :: Josh Richards dominated Saturday night’s World of Outlaws Late Model main event at The Dirt Track at Charlotte to capture his 10th win of the season and the 2013 series championship.

To start the 50-lap feature off, Jimmy Owens jumped the restart, and when the green flag was finally thrown for the second attempt, he was shuffled way back as the field headed into turn one. Besides a few minor mishaps, the first half of the race was fairly clean.

Scott Bloomquist’s night ended abruptly on lap 20 when something went amiss and the car went straight into the wall while exiting turn four. He was running seventh and making ground on the leaders at the time of the accident.

Not long after the field went back to green, Tyler Reddick got into the back of Steve Francis and put him into the outside wall in turn one on lap 23. As Francis limped his car around the track, he pulled alongside of Reddick to show his displeasure while under the caution. Reddick pulled to the outside of the field on the restart and retired from the event.

The only other major multi-car accident came on lap 30 when something went amiss on Duane Chamberlain’s car in turn four. Chamberlain abruptly came to nearly a halt, and Gregg Satterlee and Tim McCreadie plowed into the back of him.

In the end, Josh Richards was able to hold off Rick Eckert and Bobby Pierce for his 10th victory of the 2013 season. John Blankenship finished fourth, and Dan Stone crossed the finish line in fifth.

“We made a few minor changes today, definitely in the right direction,” Josh Richards said. “We didn’t have to do a whole lot – went out there and just had fun driving. This is definitely a really awesome event and definitely icing on the cake.”

World of Outlaws Late Model Saturday Night Results
1.) 1 Josh Richards
2.) 24 Rick Eckert
3.) 32p Bobby Pierce
4.) 23 John Blankenship
5.) 21D Dan Stone
6.) 20 Jimmy Owens
7.) B5 Brandon Sheppard
8.) 25 Shane Clanton
9.) 44P Earl Pearson Jr.
10.) 1C Clint Smith
11.) 18 Eric Wells
12.) 14M Morgan Bagley
13.) 19 Tim Fuller
14.) F5 B.J. Robinson
15.) 24M Kenny Moreland
16.) 22 Gregg Satterlee
17.) 20c Duane Chamberlain
18.) 39 Tim McCreadie
19.) 19R Ryan Gustin
20.) 21F Chris Ferguson
21.) 11R Tyler Reddick
22.) 15 Steve Francis
23.) 0 Scott Bloomquist
24.) 57J Bub McCool
25.) 29 Darrell Lanigan
26.) 6 Steve Shaver
27.) 1M Jeremy Miller

Hunter Thomas
Hunter Thomas is a journalist who grew up in Darlington, S.C. His first motorsports-based endeavor was working as the Public Relations Director at Dillon Motor Speedway in Dillon, S.C., and his journalism start came while he was freelancing at his hometown newspaper, the News & Press while in college.

Hunter has been working within the NASCAR industry since 2010, and throughout the years, he has done everything from PR/Marketing for drivers and teams in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series, NASCAR XFINITY Series and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series, to working at Rockingham Speedway. As a journalist, Hunter has covered everything from regional short tracks to NASCAR, ARCA Racing Series, World of Outlaws, Red Bull Global Rallycross, NHRA and much more.

Follow Hunter Thomas on Twitter by following, @HunterThomas08

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment