Dillon Basset Crowned as Youngest UARA-STARS Champion

Dillon Basset Crowned as Youngest UARA-STARS Champion

by November 4, 2013 0 comments

Hendersonville, NC (11/4/13) –Dillon Bassett will go in the record books as the youngest UARA Champion to date. Bassett won the UARA Championship in the final race of the 2013 season at the ripe age of 16. Prior to Bassett, it was Jake Crum the 2008 Champion who held the honor of youngest champion who was 17 years old when he won his championship.

After losing the 2012 Championship by only 18 points, Dillon Bassett entered the 2013 racing season with a strategy to win the Championship. Heading into the last race at Anderson, it was a flashback of the previous year’s points battle, except Bassett was the one with the upper hand. As long as Champion runner-up Garrett Campbell did not win the race and Bassett had a top five finish, the Championship was his.

Campbell fought a hard fight, but only closed the point gap from 28 to 14 points by the end of the race. Campbell finished second and Bassett’s fourth place finish awarded him with enough points to claim the championship title.

Throughout the season Bassett has won three races. In each victory, Bassett worked his way from the back to the front with enough time to lead the majority of two of those three races. His overall season laps lead was 260. His season consisted of 3 wins, 1 second, 3 thirds, 2 fourths, 2 fifths, 1 sixth, and 1 tenth place finish for the shortened season. Mother nature claimed two victories and a track closing completed the proposed 16 race schedule. Bassett averaged a 3.69 finish for 2013 getting very close to the 3.60 average finish Poole had in his 2011 championship year.

Bassett accumulated quite a handful of per race awards for 2013. He won the Holley Performer eight times during the season, awarding him passing points and an extra 5 bonus points for gaining the most positions.

With his three wins he has won Awards from Five Star Race Car Bodies, Ford, and DRP. He never finished outside of the top-ten and finished outside of the top-five only twice. He won Awards from Circle Wheel, Tilton, JRI Shocks, WP Racing Shocks and Ultra Cool Brakes.

Dillon Bassett is the only Rookie of the Year to back that up with the UARA Championship the following year. Brennan Poole claimed both but with a year seperating them.

To keep up with the STARS during the off season, visit them online at Fans are also encouraged to “like” them on Facebook under the United Auto Racing Association and follow them on Twitter @uarastars.

Press Release by: Kassie Hughes

Photos by: Drew Hierwarter

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment