Bassett Racing Claims Double Victory in the Halloween 150 Presented by Comp Cams

Bassett Racing Claims Double Victory in the Halloween 150 Presented by Comp Cams

by October 28, 2013 0 comments

Photo Credit: Drew Hierwarter

ANDERSON, SC :: Bassett Racing not only brought home the race winner trophy but also the Championship hardware during the Halloween 150 presented by Comp Cams at Anderson Motor Speedway, Saturday October 26th.

Travis Swaim took to the point for the first 25 laps of the event. Ronnie Bassett, Jr. jumped out front on lap 26 and would maintain that position for the remainder of the race rewarding him the Tilton Most Laps Lead Award, while younger brother Dillon clinched his first series Championship. Charlie Long would once again win the Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Race Award by supplying the power to both the Bassett machines.

After playing the points strategy both Garrett Campbell and Dillon Bassett qualified in the last two positions chasing those ever popular bonus points. Trying to close the 26 points gap prior to the race, Campbell won the Holley Performer of the Race Award . By doing so he closed the gap to a 14 points difference between him and Dillon Bassett when the race was done. Campbell earned passing points and an extra five bonus points for passing the most cars. Campbell also won the FLUIDYNE Cool Under Pressure Award by remaining focused on his charge to the front. He fell short of gaining the lead for those extra points but gave it his all and brought home a solid second place finish both in the race and the Championship run.

Dylan Hall ended his 2013 with his best UARA race. Winning the Sunoco Pole at his hometrack, he also broke the UARA track record previously held by Travis Swaim. Hall qualified with a 15.156 lap followed by Swaim with a 15.355. Hall’s fifth place finish earned him the Circle Wheel/Xtreme Trophies and More Rookie of the Race Award. He maintained a top five position throughout the entire race and battled with Bassett, Jr. for the lead during the middle of the race.

While Dillon Bassett was making his way through the field, there was contact between him and RA Brown. Brown was awarded Pigwire Electrifying Move of the Race for managing to keep his machine off the wall. He was running fifth when he had to pit for tire issues, his misfortune awarded him ARBodies Hard Luck Award for this incident. Brown is always a strong contender in the UARA series.

Reigning Champ Travis Swaim finished his 2013 season with a solid qualifying run and finish. Swaim maintained a top five position throughout the race. Local driver Randy Porter also had a solid finish. He drove his racing machine hard and spun in turn two during the second caution. He fully recovered from the spin to finish 6th place. First caution of the night wasn’t until laps 102, when Kenneth Headen stalled down the backstretch.

In pre-race activities young Garrett Jones was honored for clinching the 2013 UARA Rookie of the Year honors.

There was also an on track Trick or Treat / autograph session with the drivers for all divisions. A halloween costume contest was won by an adorable little witch and a young lady dressed as Dale Earnhardt Sr.

UARA-STARS thanks all of the competitors who raced with them throughout the 2013 season.

The UARA sends out special thanks to their sponsors and their amazing UARA Officials for all their support.

Kerry Bodenhamer, president of the UARA is already in conversations with tracks and promoters working toward 2014.

To find out about all of our STARS, fans can follow them on Twitter, @uarastars, and “like” them on Facebook under the United AutoRacing Association.

For more info visit or call 828-692-3833

UARA-STARS Halloween 150 Presented by Comp Cams
1. #04 Ronnie Bassett, Jr.
2. #12 Garrett Campbell
3. #28 Travis Swaim
4. #44 Dillon Bassett
5. #4 Dylan Hall
6. #32 Randy Porter
7. #88 Garrett Jones
8. #31 Thomas Beane
9. #3 Kaz Grala
10. #74 Justin Southernland
11. #60 RA Brown
12. #99 Kenneth Headen

The UARA-STARS will celebrate Dillon Bassett as the 20113 Champion along with his fellow top ten contenders at the 2013 Championship Banquet on January 11, 2014 at the Crowne Plaza in Hickory NC. Invitations etc will be sent out in December.

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment