Track Champions Capped Off The Season At Dillon Motor Speedway

Track Champions Capped Off The Season At Dillon Motor Speedway

by September 18, 2013 0 comments

Dillon, S.C., September 18, 2013: ASA-sanctioned, Dillon Motor Speedway hosted its Championship Night on Saturday, September 14.

Hal Goodson led all 50 laps en route to a victory in the Super Truck division this past Saturday. Goodson also won the Super Truck track championship, marking it his second in a row. Jimmy Herrington crossed the finish line in second, followed by Archie Adams Jr., Terry Moore and Ham Morrison.

In the Late Model division, Ryan Hall captured his first championship at the speedway after winning on Saturday night. The 50-lap feature went caution free with Hall leading every lap. Greg Peterson finished second, and Chad Webster had an impressive top-three finish. Clint Mills finished fourth, and Jerry Miracle rounded out the top-five.

William Haynie passed Troy Norton for the win in the closing laps of the Charger feature. However, the win didn’t come easy for Haynie. During a restart on lap 10, Haynie blew a right front tire and collided with Brian Owens while heading into turn one. Troy Norton was able to hang on for a second place finish, and Brad Dewitt was right on his rear bumper in third. Division track champion Brian Owens finished fourth, and Donnie Martin finished fifth.

Bobby Tumbleston captured his first career win at Dillon Motor Speedway in the Pure Stock Four division. Andy Norton finished second, and he was crowned the division track champion. Mark Dean finished third, followed by Josh Yoemans and Justin Altman.

The Carolina Eastern Mini Cup Association (CEMCA) had their largest field in track history with an outstanding, 19-car field. Drivers of the series competed for double the points in twin, 20-lap races.

Steve Chauncey won the first feature with Bill Willis finishing second. Anthony Bryant finished third, and Hayes Goodson along with Chalin Williamson rounded out the top-five.

In the second feature, Bill Willis took the checkered flag. Sierra Cusson from Virginia finished second in her first ever appearance at the speedway. Hayes Goodson rounded out the top-three. John Sofield finished fourth, and Chalin Williamson finished fifth.

Jeff Melton edged Donald Vaughn in a photo finish in the Carolina Vintage feature. The two drivers were sideways coming out of turn four, and the win was settled by mere feet. Steve Davis finished third, followed by Phil Terry and Wayne Hearne.

The next race at ASA-sanctioned, Dillon Motor Speedway will be held on Saturday, October 5 when the Pro All Star Series (PASS) enters Dillon County. Divisions set to take to the speedway include PASS Super Late Models, PASS Pro Late Models, Modifieds, Chargers, Street Stocks and Legends. The division track champion will be crowned in the Street Stocks.

Also on October 5, Dillon Motor Speedway will announce the “Drive of a Lifetime” winner. The idea behind the competition is to award the drivers who showed up to compete week-after-week. With only one mulligan, each driver in the Chargers, Street Stocks, Pure Stock Fours and Mini Cups had to attend every points event to be eligible for the “Drive of a Lifetime,” which is a completely funded effort by Dillon Motor Speedway to have the winner of the competition compete in the Southeast Limited Late Model event set for October 18-20. Of all the drivers who competed this past season, only 10 are still eligible.

Press Release
Press Release, source information and photo credits are located at the bottom of the article.

No Comments so far

Jump into a conversation

No Comments Yet!

You can be the one to start a conversation.

Leave a Comment